Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 62.1. Waters of the State, Ports and Harbors
Chapter 5.6. Rivanna River Basin Commission

§ 62.1-69.47. Membership; terms; vacancies; chairman and vice-chairman; quorum; meetings; voting.

A. The Commission shall consist of 14 nonlegislative members as follows: two members each of the local elected governing body of the Counties of Albemarle, Fluvanna, and Greene, and the City of Charlottesville; two nonlegislative citizen members, one each from the Culpeper Soil and Water Conservation District and the Thomas Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District; and four nonlegislative citizen members at-large, one member each appointed by the local elected governing body of the Counties of Albemarle, Fluvanna, and Greene, and the City of Charlottesville, upon the recommendation of the Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission. All members recommended by the Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission and appointed to the Commission by the relevant local elected governing bodies shall be citizens who demonstrate interest, experience, or expertise in water-related Basin issues.

B. Members of the Commission who are local elected governing body officials or members of the soil and water conservation districts shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Initial appointments of the four nonlegislative citizen-at-large members shall be staggered as follows: two members for a term of two years; and two members for a term of four years. Thereafter, nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for a term of four years. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. All members may be reappointed. However, no nonlegislative citizen member shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms. The remainder of any term to which a nonlegislative citizen at-large member is appointed to fill a vacancy shall not constitute a term in determining the member's eligibility for reappointment. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.

C. The Commission shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman from among its membership. A majority of the voting members shall constitute a quorum. The meetings of the Commission shall be held at the call of the chairman or whenever the majority of the members so request. Each member of the Commission shall have an equal vote.

2004, c. 394.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.