Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 65.2. Workers' Compensation
Chapter 8. Insurance and Self-Insurance
11/26/2020

§ 65.2-819. Penalty for violation of certain provisions.

Any person or persons who shall in this Commonwealth (i) act or assume to act as agent for any such insurance carrier whose authority to do business in this Commonwealth has been suspended, while such suspension remains in force, (ii) fail to comply with requirements or standards imposed under §§ 65.2-817 and 65.2-818 or of Chapter 10 (§ 65.2-1000 et seq.) of this title, or (iii) willfully make a false or fraudulent statement of the business or condition of any such insurance carrier, or a false or fraudulent return as therein provided, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not less than ten nor more than ninety days, or both such fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the court or jury trying the case.

Code 1950, § 65-114; 1968, c. 660, § 65.1-117.1; 1970, c. 470; 1991, c. 355.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.