Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 13.1. Corporations
Chapter 12. Virginia Limited Liability Company Act
5/8/2021

Article 11. Annual Registration Fees.

§ 13.1-1061. (Effective until July 1, 2021) Annual registration fees to be assessed and collected by Commission; application of payment.

The Commission shall assess and collect the annual registration fees imposed by this chapter. When the Commission receives payment of a registration fee assessed against a domestic or foreign limited liability company, such payment shall be applied against any unpaid registration fees previously assessed against such limited liability company, including any penalties incurred thereon, beginning with the assessment that has remained unpaid for the longest period of time.

1991, c. 168.

§ 13.1-1061. (Effective July 1, 2021) Annual registration fees to be assessed and collected by Commission; application of payment.

The Commission shall assess and collect the annual registration fees imposed by this chapter. When the Commission receives payment of a registration fee assessed against a domestic or foreign limited liability company, or any protected series thereof, such payment shall be applied against any unpaid registration fees previously assessed against such limited liability company or protected series, including any penalties incurred thereon, beginning with the assessment that has remained unpaid for the longest period of time.

1991, c. 168; 2019, c. 636.

§ 13.1-1062. (Effective until July 1, 2021) Assessment of annual registration fees; annual registration fees to be paid by domestic and foreign limited liability companies.

A. Each domestic limited liability company and each foreign limited liability company registered to transact business in the Commonwealth shall pay into the state treasury on or before the last day of the twelfth month next succeeding the month in which it was organized or registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, and by such date in each year thereafter, an annual registration fee of $50, provided that the initial annual registration fee to be paid by a domestic limited liability company created by entity conversion shall be due in the year after the calendar year in which it converted.

The annual registration fee shall be imposed irrespective of any specific license tax or other tax or fee imposed by law upon the limited liability company for the privilege of carrying on its business in the Commonwealth or upon its franchise, property or receipts.

B. Each year, the Commission shall ascertain from its records each domestic limited liability company and each foreign limited liability company registered to transact business in the Commonwealth as of the first day of the second month next preceding the month in which it was organized or registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, and, except as provided in subsection A, shall assess against each such limited liability company the annual registration fee herein imposed.

C. At the discretion of the Commission, the annual registration fee due date for a limited liability company may be extended, on a monthly basis for a period of not less than one month nor more than 11 months, at the request of its registered agent of record or as may be necessary to distribute annual registration fee due dates of limited liability companies as equally as practicable throughout the year on a monthly basis.

D. A statement of the assessment, when made, shall be forwarded by the clerk of the Commission to the Comptroller and to each domestic and foreign limited liability company.

E. Any domestic limited liability company that has ceased to exist in the Commonwealth because of the issuance of a certificate of cancellation of existence, certificate of organization surrender, or certificate of entity conversion, or any foreign limited liability company that has obtained a certificate of cancellation, effective on or before its annual registration fee due date pursuant to subsection A in any year, shall not be required to pay the annual registration fee for that year. Any domestic or foreign limited liability company that has merged, effective on or before its annual registration fee due date pursuant to subsection A in any year, into a surviving domestic or foreign corporation, limited liability company, business trust, limited partnership, or partnership that files with the Commission an authenticated copy of the instrument of merger on or before such date, shall not be required to pay the annual registration fee for that year. Any foreign limited liability company that has converted, effective on or before its annual registration fee due date pursuant to subsection A in any year, to a different entity type that files with the Commission an authenticated copy of the instrument of entity conversion on or before such date, shall not be required to pay the annual registration fee for that year. The Commission shall cancel the annual registration fee assessments specified in this subsection that remain unpaid.

F. Registration fee assessments that have been paid shall not be refunded.

G. The fees paid into the state treasury under this section and the fees collected under § 13.1-1005 shall be set aside and paid into the special fund created under § 13.1-775.1, and shall be used only by the Commission as it deems necessary to defray the costs of the Commission and of the office of the clerk of the Commission in supervising, implementing, administering and enforcing the provisions of this chapter. The projected excess of fees collected over the costs of administration and enforcement so incurred shall be paid into the general fund prior to the close of each fiscal year, based on the unexpended balance of the special fund at the end of the prior fiscal year. An adjustment of this transfer amount to reflect actual fees collected shall occur during the first quarter of the succeeding fiscal year.

1991, c. 168; 1995, c. 621; 2001, c. 545; 2002, c. 1; 2006, c. 748; 2010, c. 703; 2013, c. 17.

§ 13.1-1062. (Effective July 1, 2021) Assessment of annual registration fees; annual registration fees to be paid by domestic and foreign limited liability companies.

A. Each domestic limited liability company, each protected series, each foreign limited liability company registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, and each foreign protected series registered to transact business in the Commonwealth shall pay into the state treasury on or before the last day of the twelfth month next succeeding the month in which it was organized, established, or registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, and by such date in each year thereafter, an annual registration fee of $50, provided that the initial annual registration fee to be paid by a domestic limited liability company created by entity conversion shall be due in the year after the calendar year in which it converted.

The annual registration fee shall be imposed irrespective of any specific license tax or other tax or fee imposed by law upon the domestic or foreign limited liability company or any protected series thereof for the privilege of carrying on its business in the Commonwealth or upon its franchise, property or receipts.

B. Each year, the Commission shall ascertain from its records each domestic limited liability company, each protected series, each foreign limited liability company registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, and each foreign protected series registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, as of the first day of the second month next preceding the month in which it was organized, established, or registered to transact business in the Commonwealth, and, except as provided in subsection A, shall assess against each such limited liability company and each such protected series the annual registration fee herein imposed.

C. At the discretion of the Commission, the annual registration fee due date for a limited liability company may be extended, on a monthly basis for a period of not less than one month nor more than 11 months, at the request of its registered agent of record or as may be necessary to distribute annual registration fee due dates of limited liability companies as equally as practicable throughout the year on a monthly basis.

D. A statement of the assessment, when made, shall be forwarded by the clerk of the Commission to the Comptroller and to each domestic and foreign limited liability company and each protected series thereof.

E. Any domestic limited liability company that has ceased to exist in the Commonwealth because of the issuance of a certificate of cancellation of existence, certificate of organization surrender, or certificate of entity conversion, any protected series that has been canceled, any foreign limited liability company that has obtained a certificate of cancellation, or any foreign protected series that has obtained a certificate of cancellation, effective on or before its annual registration fee due date pursuant to subsection A in any year, shall not be required to pay the annual registration fee for that year. Any domestic or foreign limited liability company that has merged, effective on or before its annual registration fee due date pursuant to subsection A in any year, into a surviving domestic or foreign corporation, limited liability company, business trust, limited partnership, or partnership that files with the Commission an authenticated copy of the instrument of merger on or before such date, shall not be required to pay the annual registration fee for that year. Any foreign limited liability company that has converted, effective on or before its annual registration fee due date pursuant to subsection A in any year, to a different entity type that files with the Commission an authenticated copy of the instrument of entity conversion on or before such date, shall not be required to pay the annual registration fee for that year. The Commission shall cancel the annual registration fee assessments specified in this subsection that remain unpaid.

F. Registration fee assessments that have been paid shall not be refunded.

G. The fees paid into the state treasury under this section and the fees collected under § 13.1-1005 shall be set aside and paid into the special fund created under § 13.1-775.1, and shall be used only by the Commission as it deems necessary to defray the costs of the Commission and of the office of the clerk of the Commission in supervising, implementing, administering and enforcing the provisions of this chapter. The projected excess of fees collected over the costs of administration and enforcement so incurred shall be paid into the general fund prior to the close of each fiscal year, based on the unexpended balance of the special fund at the end of the prior fiscal year. An adjustment of this transfer amount to reflect actual fees collected shall occur during the first quarter of the succeeding fiscal year.

1991, c. 168; 1995, c. 621; 2001, c. 545; 2002, c. 1; 2006, c. 748; 2010, c. 703; 2013, c. 17; 2019, c. 636.

§ 13.1-1063. Repealed.

Repealed by Acts 2010, c. 703, cl. 3.

§ 13.1-1064. (Effective until July 1, 2021) Penalty for failure to timely pay annual registration fees.

A. Any domestic or foreign limited liability company that fails to pay the annual registration fee into the state treasury within the time prescribed in § 13.1-1062 shall incur a penalty of $25, which shall be added to the amount of the annual registration fee due. The penalty prescribed herein shall be in addition to any other penalty or liability imposed by law.

B. The Commission shall mail to each domestic and foreign limited liability company that fails to pay the annual registration fee within the time prescribed in § 13.1-1062 a notice of assessment of the penalty imposed herein and of the impending cancellation of its existence or certificate of registration, as the case may be.

1991, c. 168; 1997, c. 190; 2000, c. 52; 2004, cc. 274, 601; 2005, c. 255; 2008, c. 108.

§ 13.1-1064. (Effective July 1, 2021) Penalty for failure to timely pay annual registration fees.

A. Any domestic or foreign limited liability company, or any protected series thereof, that fails to pay the annual registration fee into the state treasury within the time prescribed in § 13.1-1062 shall incur a penalty of $25, which shall be added to the amount of the annual registration fee due. The penalty prescribed herein shall be in addition to any other penalty or liability imposed by law.

B. The Commission shall mail to each domestic and foreign limited liability company that fails to pay the annual registration fee within the time prescribed in § 13.1-1062 a notice of assessment of the penalty imposed herein and of the impending cancellation of its existence or certificate of registration, as the case may be.

C. The Commission shall mail to each protected series and each foreign protected series that fails to pay the annual registration fee within the time prescribed in § 13.1-1062 a notice of assessment of the penalty imposed herein and of its impending cancellation or the impending cancellation of its certificate of registration, as the case may be.

1991, c. 168; 1997, c. 190; 2000, c. 52; 2004, cc. 274, 601; 2005, c. 255; 2008, c. 108; 2019, c. 636.

§ 13.1-1065. (Effective until July 1, 2021) Payment of fees, fines, penalties, and interest prerequisite to Commission action; refunds.

A. The Commission shall not file or issue with respect to any domestic or foreign limited liability company any document or certificate specified in this chapter, except a statement of change pursuant to § 13.1-1016, a statement of resignation pursuant to § 13.1-1017, and a statement of change pursuant to § 13.1-1018.1, until all fees, fines, penalties, and interest assessed, imposed, charged, or to be collected by the Commission pursuant to this chapter or Title 12.1 have been paid by or on behalf of such limited liability company. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Commission may file or issue any document or certificate with respect to a domestic or foreign limited liability company that has been assessed an annual registration fee if the document or certificate is filed or issued with an effective date that is on or before the due date of the limited liability company's annual registration fee payment in any year, provided that the Commission shall not issue a certificate of domestication with respect to a foreign limited liability company until the annual registration fee has been paid by or on behalf of that limited liability company.

B. The Commission shall have authority to certify to the Comptroller directing refund of any overpayment of a fee, or of any fee collected for a document that is not accepted for filing, at any time within one year from the date of its payment.

1991, c. 168; 2002, c. 608; 2004, c. 316; 2006, c. 659; 2007, c. 810; 2009, c. 450.

§ 13.1-1065. (Effective July 1, 2021) Payment of fees, fines, penalties, and interest prerequisite to Commission action; refunds.

A. The Commission shall not file or issue with respect to any domestic or foreign limited liability company any document or certificate specified in this chapter, except a statement of change pursuant to § 13.1-1016, a statement of resignation pursuant to § 13.1-1017, and a statement of change pursuant to § 13.1-1018.1, until all fees, fines, penalties, and interest assessed, imposed, charged, or to be collected by the Commission pursuant to this chapter or Title 12.1 have been paid by or on behalf of such limited liability company. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Commission may file or issue any document or certificate with respect to a domestic or foreign limited liability company that has been assessed an annual registration fee if the document or certificate is filed or issued with an effective date that is on or before the due date of the limited liability company's annual registration fee payment in any year, provided that the Commission shall not issue a certificate of domestication with respect to a foreign limited liability company until the annual registration fee has been paid by or on behalf of that limited liability company.

B. The Commission shall not file or issue with respect to any protected series or foreign protected series any document or certificate specified in this chapter until all fees, fines, penalties, and interest assessed, imposed, charged, or to be collected by the Commission pursuant to this chapter or Title 12.1 have been paid by or on behalf of such protected series. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Commission may file or issue any document or certificate with respect to a protected series or foreign protected series that has been assessed an annual registration fee if the document or certificate is filed or issued with an effective date that is on or before the due date of the protected series' annual registration fee payment in any year.

C. The Commission shall have authority to certify to the Comptroller directing refund of any overpayment of a fee, or of any fee collected for a document that is not accepted for filing, at any time within one year from the date of its payment.

1991, c. 168; 2002, c. 608; 2004, c. 316; 2006, c. 659; 2007, c. 810; 2009, c. 450; 2019, c. 636.

§ 13.1-1066. Collection of unpaid bills for annual registration fees.

The annual registration fee with penalty and interest shall be enforceable, in addition to existing remedies for the collection of taxes, levies, and fees, by action in the name of the Commonwealth in the appropriate circuit court. Venue shall be in accordance with § 8.01-261.

1991, c. 168; 2016, c. 288.