Code of Virginia

Code of Virginia
Title 54.1. Professions and Occupations
9/15/2019

Article 7. Medication Aides.

§ 54.1-3041. Registration required.

A medication aide who administers drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents in an assisted living facility licensed by the Department of Social Services shall be registered by the Board.

2005, cc. 610, 924.

§ 54.1-3042. Application for registration by competency evaluation.

A. Every applicant for registration as a medication aide by competency evaluation shall pay the required application fee and shall submit written evidence that the applicant:

1. Has not committed any act that would be grounds for discipline or denial of registration under this article;

2. Has successfully completed a staff training program in direct care approved by the Department of Social Services or an approved nurse aide education program;

3. Has successfully completed an education or training program approved by the Board that shall include one of the following:

a. A medication aide education or training program approved by the Board that shall be 68 hours combined classroom instruction and clinical skills practice curriculum; or

b. A nursing education program preparing for registered nurse or practical nurse licensure; and

4. Has successfully completed a competency evaluation consisting of both a clinical evaluation of minimal competency and a written examination as specified by the Board.

B. The Board shall (i) make the written examination available in both electronic and non-electronic format, (ii) provide sufficient locations for the administration of any written examination required for registration under this section, to ensure adequate access to the written examination for all applicants, (iii) establish a procedure pursuant to which an examination shall be offered at or near the location of an education or training course, upon the request of five or more applicants, provided that the security of the examination and the integrity of the administration of the examination are ensured and that any additional costs are born by the requesting applicants, and (iv) provide written notice to applicants of the results of any competency examination completed by the applicants within seven days of completion of the examination.

C. Any applicant under this section who has provided to the Board evidence of successful completion of the education or training course required for registration may act as a medication aide on a provisional basis for no more than 120 days before successfully completing any required competency evaluation. However, upon notification of failure to successfully complete the written examination after three attempts, an applicant shall immediately cease acting as a medication aide.

D. Any applicant under this section who shall apply by endorsement from any state or the District of Columbia that requires registration of medication aides who has met the requirements of registration in such jurisdiction may be deemed eligible to sit for the competency evaluation required pursuant to this section, subject to approval of the Board.

2005, cc. 610, 924; 2009, cc. 133, 837.

§ 54.1-3043. Continuing training required.

Every applicant for registration as a medication aide shall complete ongoing training related to the administration of medications as required by the Board.

2005, cc. 610, 924.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of these sections may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.

The Virginia General Assembly is offering access to the Code of Virginia on the Internet as a service to the public. We are unable to assist users of this service with legal questions nor respond to requests for legal advice or the application of the law to specific facts. Therefore, to understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.

The Code of Virginia online database excludes material copyrighted by the publisher, Michie, a division of Matthew Bender. Copyrighted material includes annotations and revisors' notes, which may be found in the print version of the Code of Virginia. Annotated print copies of the Code of Virginia are available in most Virginia public library systems, from LexisNexis (1-800-446-3410), and from West, a Thomson-Reuters business (1-800-344-5008).