Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 630. Private Well Regulations

12VAC5-630-220. Permits and inspection statement; general.

All private wells shall be constructed and located in compliance with the requirements as set forth in this chapter.

A. Except as provided in 12VAC5-630-220 B below, after the effective date of this chapter, no person shall construct, alter, rehabilitate, abandon or extend a private well, or allow the construction, alteration, rehabilitation, abandonment or extension of a private well, without a written construction permit from the commissioner. Conditions may be imposed on the issuance of any permit and no private well shall be constructed or modified in violation of those conditions. The replacement of a well pump, or the replacement of a well seal or cap with an equivalent well seal or cap, shall not be considered a well modification.

B. No permit shall be required for the construction, operation, or abandonment of dewatering wells. Furthermore, dewatering wells are exempted from the construction requirements found in 12VAC5-630-410. All dewatering wells shall be abandoned within 60 days of construction. Abandonment in this case means the removal of the well point, well casing, screening, and other appurtenances associated with the construction and operation of the well.

C. Except as provided in 12VAC5-630-320, no person shall place a private well in operation, or cause or allow a private well to be placed in operation, without obtaining a written inspection statement pursuant to 12VAC5-630-310 and 12VAC5-630-330.

D. Except as provided in 12VAC5-630-270, 12VAC5-630-290 and 12VAC5-630-300, construction permits for a private well shall be deemed valid for a period of 54 months from the date of issuance.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-176 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-34-100 § 2.12, eff. April 1, 1992.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.