Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 16. Labor And Employment
Agency 15. Department of Labor And Industry
Chapter 30. Virginia Rules and Regulations Declaring Hazardous Occupations
10/7/2022

16VAC15-30-10. Hazardous occupations.

The Child Labor Laws of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia provide a minimum of 18 years of age for employment in any occupation determined by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry to be hazardous or detrimental to the health of minors under 18 years of age. This minimum age applies even when the minor is employed by his parents or persons standing in place of the parent.

Statutory Authority

§ 40.1-100 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR425-01-77, eff. October 15, 1979; rev. June 30, 1981.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.