Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 20. Public Utilities And Telecommunications
Agency 5. State Corporation Commission
Chapter 10. In General
7/5/2022

20VAC5-10-10. Rules on meter testing, bad check charges and late payment charges.

A. Meter Testing - Each public utility providing gas or electric service shall provide one free meter test during any 24 month period for any of its Virginia customers requesting same. For each additional test which may be requested during such period, the customer shall be required to deposit a reasonable sum of money with the utility to offset the cost of the test. If any additional requested test made during the aforesaid period reveals meter error greater than 102%, or less than 98%, of actual consumption, the deposit required herein shall be refunded; otherwise, the deposit shall be retained by the utility for the purpose aforesaid.

B. Bad Check Charge - Each public utility subject to the jurisdiction of the State Corporation Commission may impose and collect a service charge for every check received in payment of a customer's account, which check is lawfully dishonored by the payor bank. Provided, however, the service charge shall be uniformly applied to all customers of each utility and shall be based upon the estimated aggregate additional cost of handling dishonored checks, but, in no event, shall the individual charge exceed $6.00.

C. Late Payment Charge - Each public utility may charge up to one and one-half percent per month on any customer charges not timely paid. Appropriate calculation of this late payment charge shall be made at the time of each successive, usual billing date, and the amount of any such charge included as a separately identified item upon the current bill. Before implementing a late payment charge program, the utility must show on its customer bill, in addition to other necessary information, the date on which the bill is delivered to the United States mail, or delivered to the customer's premises, together with showing the date by which payment must be received in the utility's offices to avoid late payment charges. In no case shall payment for current service be considered overdue if received by the utility within 20 days from the mailing date or delivered date of the bill.

The late payment charge shall not be applied to any amount billed as taxes which utilities are required to collect on behalf of local government.

Statutory Authority

§§ 56-245.1, 56-246, 56-247 and 56-247.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Case No. 19589, eff. January 10, 1977.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.