Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 22. Social Services
Agency 40. Department of Social Services
Chapter 80. General Procedures and Information for Licensure
3/29/2020

22VAC40-80-345. Summary Suspension Procedures.

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, denial, or other action when conditions or practices exist that pose an immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, and welfare of the residents, the commissioner may issue a notice of summary suspension of the license to operate an assisted living facility or a child welfare agency or of certain authority of the licensee to provide certain services or perform certain functions.

B. The hearing coordinator will select a hearing officer from a list prepared by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia and will schedule the time, date, and location of the hearing to determine whether the suspension is appropriate as required by § 63.2-1709 C or 63.2-1709.1 C of the Code of Virginia.

C. Simultaneously with the issuance of a notice of revocation, denial or other action, the commissioner will issue to the licensee a notice of summary suspension setting forth the following:

1. The procedures for the summary suspension;

2. The hearing and appeal rights as set forth in this subsection;

3. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for which the summary order of suspension is sought; and

4. The time, date, and location of the hearing.

D. Notice of the summary suspension shall be served on the licensee or his designee by personal service or by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of record of the licensee as soon as practicable after issuance thereof.

E. The hearing shall take place in the locality where the assisted living facility or child welfare agency operates unless the licensee or his designee expressly waives this venue provision.

1. The hearing shall be held no later than 15 business days after service of notice on the licensee. The hearing officer may grant a continuance upon written request and for good cause shown. In no event shall any continuance exceed 10 business days after the initial hearing date.

2. The hearing coordinator will forward a copy of the relevant licensing standards to the hearing officer.

3. The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the procedures set forth in 22VAC40-80-480, 22VAC40-80-490, and 22VAC40-80-500.

4. The department may be represented either by counsel or by agency staff authorized by § 2.2-509 of the Code of Virginia.

F. Within 10 days of the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing officer shall provide to the commissioner written findings and conclusions, together with a recommendation as to whether the license should be summarily suspended. The department shall have the burden of proof in any summary suspension hearing. The decision of the hearing officer shall be based on the preponderance of the evidence presented by the record and relevant to the basic law under which the agency is operating.

G. Within 10 business days of receipt of the hearing officer's findings, conclusions, and recommendation, the commissioner may issue a final order of summary suspension or an order that such summary suspension is not warranted by the facts and circumstances presented.

H. In issuing a final order of summary suspension, the commissioner may:

1. Suspend the license of the assisted living facility or child welfare agency; or

2. Suspend only certain authority of the assisted living facility or child welfare agency to provide certain services or perform certain functions that the commissioner determines should be restricted or modified in order to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the individuals receiving care.

I. The commissioner shall adopt the hearing officer's recommended decision unless to do so would be an error of law or department policy.

J. In the event the commissioner rejects a hearing officer's findings, conclusions, or recommended decision, the commissioner shall state with particularity the basis for rejection.

K. A copy of any final order of summary suspension shall be prominently displayed at each public entrance of the facility as required in 22VAC40-80-120.

L. The signed, original case decision shall remain in the custody of the agency as a public record, subject to the agency's records retention policy.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1733, and 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 23, Issue 06, eff. December 28, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 36, Issue 02, eff. October 17, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.