Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
6/29/2022

Part V. Renewal

18VAC15-30-164. Renewal required.

A. Interim licenses shall expire six months from the last day of the month during which the individual completed the board-approved initial or refresher accredited lead training program required by 18VAC15-30-52 regardless of the date on which the board received the application for initial licensure or the date the board issued the license.

B. Interim licenses shall not be renewed or extended.

C. Individual licenses shall expire 12 months from the last day of the month wherein issued.

D. Contractor licenses shall expire 12 months from the last day of the month wherein issued.

E. Accredited lead training programs approval shall expire 24 months from the last day of the month in which the board granted approval.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2015.

18VAC15-30-165. Procedures for renewal.

A. The board shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee or accredited lead training provider at the last known address. The notice shall outline the procedures for renewal and the renewal fee amount. Failure to receive the notice shall not relieve the licensee or accredited lead training provider of the obligation to renew.

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license or approval, each licensee or accredited lead training provider desiring to renew the license or approval shall return to the board the renewal notice and the renewal fee. Documentation of refresher training programs for individuals and of the requirements in 18VAC15-30-166 C for accredited lead training programs shall be sent to the board.

C. Should the licensee or accredited lead training provider fail to receive the renewal notice, a photocopy of the current lead license or accredited lead training program approval may be substituted for the renewal notice and mailed with the required fee to the board.

D. Interim licensure shall not be renewed or extended. Each applicant who wishes a second interim license must provide to the board evidence of having retaken and satisfactorily completed the initial training requirements and make a new application to the board.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006.

18VAC15-30-166. Qualifications for renewal.

A. Individuals.

1. Licensees desiring to maintain an individual license shall satisfactorily complete the required board-approved refresher training course within 36 months after the date that the initial or most recent refresher training course was completed and at least once every 36 months thereafter. In the case of a proficiency-based course completion, refresher training is required every 60 months instead of 36 months.

2. Licensees are responsible for ensuring that the board receives proof of completion of the required board-approved training. Prior to the expiration date shown on the individual's current license, the individual desiring to renew that license shall provide evidence of meeting the board-approved refresher training requirement for license renewal.

3. Refresher training shall be specific to the discipline of the license being renewed.

4. The board shall renew an individual license for an additional 12 months upon receipt of a renewal application and fee in compliance with 18VAC15-30-163 and 18VAC15-30-165, provided that the licensee has complied with subdivisions 1 through 3 of this subsection.

B. Contractors. The board shall renew a contractor license for an additional 12 months upon receipt of a renewal application and the renewal fee in compliance with 18VAC15-30-163 and 18VAC15-30-165. Return of the renewal application and renewal fee to the board shall constitute a certification that the licensee is in full compliance with the board's regulations.

C. Accredited training programs.

1. Accredited lead training providers desiring to maintain approval of their accredited lead training program shall cause the board to receive the following no later than 24 months after the date of initial approval and not less often than once each 24 months thereafter:

a. The training provider's name, address, and telephone number.

b. A statement signed by the training program manager that certifies that:

(1) The course materials for each course meet the requirements of Part VII (18VAC15-30-440 et seq.) of this chapter.

(2) The training manager and principal instructors meet the qualifications listed in 18VAC15-30-340.

(3) The training program manager complies at all times with all requirements of this chapter.

(4) The quality control program meets the requirements noted in 18VAC15-30-410.

(5) The recordkeeping requirements of this chapter will be followed.

2. Return of the renewal application and renewal fee to the board shall constitute a certification that the accredited lead training provider is in full compliance with the board's regulations.

3. An audit by a board representative may be performed to verify the certified statements and the contents of the application before relicensure is granted.

4. Accredited lead training programs determined by the board to have met the renewal requirements shall be issued an approval for an additional 24 months.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2015.

18VAC15-30-167. Late renewal.

A. If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 days after the expiration date printed on the license or accredited lead training program approval, a late renewal fee shall be required in addition to the renewal fee.

B. Any licensee or accredited lead training provider who fails to renew his license or accredited lead training program approval within 12 months after the expiration date on the license or approval shall not be permitted to renew and shall apply as a new applicant.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 15, eff. May 1, 2015.

18VAC15-30-170. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006.

18VAC15-30-190. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003.

18VAC15-30-205. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006.

18VAC15-30-210. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003.

18VAC15-30-225. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006.

18VAC15-30-230. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003.

18VAC15-30-245. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; derived from or amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006.

18VAC15-30-310. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003.

18VAC15-30-330. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 2006.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.