Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
9/30/2022

Part IV. Renewal and Reinstatement

18VAC48-50-90. Renewal required.

A license issued under this chapter shall expire one year from the last day of the month in which it was issued. A certificate issued under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued. A fee shall be required for renewal.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 11, eff. April 1, 2010; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 11, eff. March 1, 2012; Volume 36, Issue 3, eff. November 1, 2019.

18VAC48-50-100. Expiration and renewal.

A. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, licenses shall be renewed upon (i) completion of the renewal application, (ii) submittal of proof of current bond or insurance policy as detailed in 18VAC48-50-30 E, and (iii) payment of the fees specified in 18VAC48-50-60.

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the certificate, certificates shall be renewed upon (i) completion of the renewal application; (ii) submittal of proof of completion of two hours of fair housing training as it relates to the management of common interest communities and two hours of Virginia common interest community law and regulation training, both as approved by the board and completed within the two-year certificate period immediately prior to the expiration date of the certificate; and (iii) payment of the fees specified in 18VAC48-50-60.

C. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant at the last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive this notice shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the license or certificate may be submitted with the required fees as an application for renewal. By submitting an application for renewal, the regulant is certifying continued compliance with the Standards of Conduct and Practice in Part V (18VAC48-50-140 et seq.) of this chapter.

D. Applicants for renewal shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure and certification set forth in Part II (18VAC48-50-20 et seq.) of this chapter.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 11, eff. April 1, 2010; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 11, eff. March 1, 2012; Volume 35, Issue 19, eff. July 1, 2019.

18VAC48-50-110. Reinstatement of common interest community manager license and certified principal or supervisory employee certificate required.

A. If all of the requirements for renewal of a license as specified in 18VAC48-50-100 A are not completed within 30 days of the license expiration date, the licensee shall be required to reinstate the license by meeting all renewal requirements and by paying the reinstatement fee specified in 18VAC48-50-60.

B. If all of the requirements for renewal of a certificate as specified in 18VAC48-50-100 B are not completed within 30 days of the certificate expiration date, the certificateholder shall be required to reinstate the certificate by meeting all renewal requirements and by paying the reinstatement fee specified in 18VAC48-50-60.

C. A license or certificate may be reinstated for up to six months following the expiration date. After six months, the license or certificate may not be reinstated under any circumstances and the firm or individual must meet all current entry requirements and apply as a new applicant.

D. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 11, eff. April 1, 2010; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 11, eff. March 1, 2012.

18VAC48-50-120. Status of license or certificate during the period prior to reinstatement.

A regulant who applies for reinstatement of a license or certificate shall be subject to all laws and regulations as if the regulant had been continuously licensed or certified. The regulant shall remain under and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 11, eff. April 1, 2010; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 11, eff. March 1, 2012.

18VAC48-50-130. Board discretion to deny renewal or reinstatement.

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license or certificate for the same reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure or certification, or discipline a regulant.

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license or certificate if the regulant has been subject to a disciplinary proceeding and has not met the terms of an agreement for licensure or certification, has not satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully paid any monetary penalties and costs imposed by the board.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 11, eff. April 1, 2010; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 11, eff. March 1, 2012.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.