Constitution of Virginia

Constitution of Virginia

Article I. Bill of Rights

Read Article

Section 1
Equality and rights of men.
Section 2
People the source of power.
Section 3
Government instituted for common benefit.
Section 4
No exclusive emoluments or privileges; offices not to be hereditary.
Section 5
Separation of legislative, executive, and judicial departments; periodical elections.
Section 6
Free elections; consent of governed.
Section 7
Laws should not be suspended.
Section 8
Criminal prosecutions.
Section 8-A
Rights of victims of crime.
Section 9
Prohibition of excessive bail and fines, cruel and unusual punishment, suspension of habeas corpus, bills of attainder, and ex post facto laws.
Section 10
General warrants of search or seizure prohibited.
Section 11
Due process of law; obligation of contracts; taking or damaging of private property; prohibited discrimination; jury trial in civil cases.
Section 12
Freedom of speech and of the press; right peaceably to assemble, and to petition.
Section 13
Militia; standing armies; military subordinate to civil power.
Section 14
Government should be uniform.
Section 15
Qualities necessary to preservation of free government.
Section 15-A
Section 16
Free exercise of religion; no establishment of religion.
Section 17
Construction of the Bill of Rights.