Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 53.1. Prisons and Other Methods of Correction
Chapter 3. Local Correctional Facilities

§ 53.1-116. What records and policy jailer shall keep; how time deducted or added for felons and misdemeanants; payment of fine and costs by person committed to jail until he pays.

A. The jailer shall keep a (i) record describing each person committed to jail, the terms of confinement, for what offense or cause he was committed, and when received into jail; (ii) record of each prisoner; and (iii) written policy stating the criteria for and conditions of earned credit in the facility and the revocation of such credit.

Unless he is serving a mandatory minimum sentence of confinement, each prisoner sentenced to 12 months or less for a misdemeanor or any combination of misdemeanors shall earn good conduct credit at the rate of one day for each one day served, including all days served while confined in jail prior to conviction and sentencing, in which the prisoner has not violated the written rules and regulations of the jail.

Prisoners eligible for parole under § 53.1-151, 53.1-152 or 53.1-153 shall earn good conduct credit at a rate of 15 days for each 30 days served with satisfactory conduct.

The jailer may grant the prisoner additional credits for performance of institutional work assignments, participation in classes, or participation in local work force programs, if available at the facility, at the rate of five days for every 30 days served. The time so deducted shall be allowed to each prisoner for such time as he is confined in jail. It shall be the responsibility of the jailer in each facility to determine the manner in which these additional credits may be awarded and to include this information in the written policy mandated by clause (iii) of this subsection.

For each violation of the rules prescribed herein, the time so deducted shall be added until it equals the full sentence imposed upon the prisoner by the court.

However, any prisoner committed to jail upon a felony offense committed on or after January 1, 1995, shall not earn good conduct credit, sentence credit, earned sentence credit, other credit, or a combination of any credits in excess of that permissible under Article 4 (§ 53.1-202.2 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of this title. So much of an order of any court contrary to the provisions of this section shall be deemed null and void.

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 19.2-350, in the event a person who was committed to jail to be therein confined until he pays a fine imposed on him by the court in which he was tried should desire to pay such fine and costs, he may pay the same to the person in charge of the jail. The person receiving such moneys shall execute and deliver an official receipt therefor and shall promptly transmit the amount so paid to the clerk of the court which imposed the fine and costs. Such clerk shall give him an official receipt therefor and shall properly record the receipt of such moneys.

C. The administrator of a local or regional jail shall not assign a person to a home/electronic incarceration program pursuant to subsection C of § 53.1-131.2 in a locality which has a jail operated by a sheriff, without the consent of the sheriff.

Code 1950, § 53-151; 1952, c. 218; 1972, c. 293; 1981, c. 278; 1982, c. 636; 1983, c. 561; 1984, c. 643; 1990, c. 934; 1994, 2nd Sp. Sess., cc. 1, 2; 1996, c. 556; 1998, c. 776; 1999, cc. 951, 1007; 2003, cc. 818, 820; 2004, cc. 400, 461; 2011, c. 491.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.