Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 22. Virginia Fuels Tax Act
8/20/2019

§ 58.1-2249. Tax on alternative fuel.

A. There is hereby levied a tax at the rate levied on gasoline and gasohol on liquid alternative fuel used to operate a highway vehicle by means of a vehicle supply tank that stores fuel only for the purpose of supplying fuel to operate the vehicle. There is hereby levied a tax at a rate equivalent to that levied on gasoline and gasohol on all other alternative fuel used to operate a highway vehicle. The Commissioner shall determine the equivalent rate applicable to such other alternative fuels.

B. (Contingent expiration date -- see note*) In addition to any tax imposed by this article, there is hereby levied an annual license tax of $64 per vehicle on each highway vehicle registered in Virginia that is an electric motor vehicle or an alternative fuel vehicle. However, no license tax shall be levied on any vehicle that (i) is subject to the tax on fuels levied pursuant to subsection A, (ii) is subject to the federal excise tax levied under § 4041 of the Internal Revenue Code, (iii) is a moped as defined in § 46.2-100, or (iv) is registered under the International Registration Plan. If such a highway vehicle is registered for a period other than one year as provided under § 46.2-646, the license tax shall be multiplied by the number of years or fraction thereof that the vehicle will be registered. The revenues generated by this subsection shall be deposited in the Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund established pursuant to § 33.2-1530.

B. (Contingent effective date -- see note*) In addition to any tax imposed by this article, there is hereby levied an annual license tax of $50 per vehicle on each highway vehicle registered in Virginia that is an electric motor vehicle. If such a highway vehicle is registered for a period other than one year as provided under § 46.2-646, the license tax shall be multiplied by the number of years or fraction thereof that the vehicle will be registered.

2000, cc. 729, 758; 2007, c. 896; 2012, cc. 729, 733; 2013, c. 766; 2014, cc. 14, 43.

*Subsection B is set out twice because the 14th enactment of Chapter 766 of the Acts of Assembly of 2013 states: "That the provisions of this act that generate additional revenue through state taxes or fees for transportation (i) throughout the Commonwealth and in Planning District 8 and Planning District 23 or (ii) in any other Planning District that becomes subject to the state taxes or fees imposed solely in Planning Districts pursuant to this act shall expire on December 31 of any year in which the General Assembly appropriates any of such additional revenues for any non-transportation-related purpose or transfers any of such additional revenues that are to be deposited into the Commonwealth Transportation Fund or any subfund thereof pursuant to general law for a non-transportation-related purpose. In the event a local government of any county or city wherein the additional taxes and fees are levied appropriates or allocates any of such additional revenues to a non-transportation purpose, such locality shall not be the direct beneficiary of any of the revenues generated by the taxes or fees in the year immediately succeeding the year in which revenues were appropriated or allocated to a non-transportation purpose."

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.