Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 10.1. Conservation
Chapter 11.1. Department of Environmental Quality
2/22/2024

§ 10.1-1184.2. Regulations; civil penalties; written notice of violation.

Prior to assessing any civil penalty pursuant to § 10.1-1309, 10.1-1455, or 62.1-44.15 against any person for an alleged violation of a regulation adopted by a Board or permit issued by the Department, the Department shall inform such person in writing of the alleged violation, the potential penalties for such violation, and the actions necessary to achieve compliance and remediate the alleged violation. The Department may allow the person 30 days to take such actions and to provide any additional, relevant facts to the Department, including facts that demonstrate a good-faith attempt to achieve compliance. If compliance has not been achieved and the alleged violation remediated after the 30 days, the Department or the Board shall proceed in accordance with § 10.1-1309, 10.1-1455, or 62.1-44.15, as applicable.

For purposes of this section, "Board" means the State Air Pollution Control Board, the Virginia Waste Management Board, or the State Water Control Board.

2023, c. 718.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.