Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 55.1. Property and Conveyances
Chapter 24. Escheats
7/13/2020

§ 55.1-2402. Bond of escheator.

Each escheator shall give bond for the judicial circuit for which he is appointed in the circuit court for the locality in which he resides, in the penalty of $3,000, without surety, and may continue in office until removed or until a successor is duly appointed and qualified. If property in another locality within the appointed judicial circuit escheats to the Commonwealth at the inquest hearing, the escheator shall give bond within that locality as determined by the clerk of the circuit court in the locality and in a penalty of a percentage of the assessed value of the property according to the records of the commissioner of the revenue. The bond shall be obtained within 10 days following the inquest hearing.

Code 1919, § 490; Code 1950, § 55-169; 1977, c. 583; 1982, c. 437; 1998, c. 215; 2019, c. 712.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.