Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 31. Local Officers
11/20/2019

§ 58.1-3118. Commissioner to retain original personal property book; reproduction of book; disposition of copies.

Each commissioner of the revenue shall retain in his office the original personal property book. Each commissioner of the revenue shall deliver one certified copy of the personal property book to the treasurer of his county or city and, if requested by the Department in writing, to the Department of Taxation. The personal property books may be produced in the form of microfilm, microfiche, any other similar microphotographic process, or by electronic means and shall be distributed as designated in that form so long as such process complies with standards adopted pursuant to regulations issued under § 42.1-82 for microfilm, microfiche, other similar microphotographic process, or electronic means and is acceptable to and meets the requirement of the recipients of copies of the personal property book as designated by this section. For failure to deliver the copies in the manner herein provided by September 1 of each year, or within 90 days from the date the rate of tax on personal property has been determined, whichever date shall occur last, the commissioner of the revenue shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $200 and he shall not be paid any compensation which he may be due, payable out of the state treasury, for making out such books. But the Department of Taxation may, for good cause and upon written notice to the county or city treasurer and local governing body, extend the time of delivery for such books.

The treasurer and the commissioner of the revenue need not preserve copies of the personal property book for a period of longer than six years following the tax year to which such book relates.

Code 1950, § 58-884; 1960, c. 49; 1962, c. 281; 1975, c. 45; 1980, c. 343; 1981, c. 158; 1984, c. 675; 1997, c. 701; 1999, c. 52; 2003, c. 8.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.