Code of Virginia

Code of Virginia
Title 55.1. Property and Conveyances
7/12/2020

Article 3. Landlord Obligations.

§ 55.1-1410. Notice to terminate a tenancy in nonresidential rental property; notice of change in use of multifamily residential building.

A. A year-to-year tenancy in a nonresidential rental property may be terminated by either party giving three months' notice, in writing, prior to the end of any year of the tenancy, of his intention to terminate the same. A month-to-month tenancy may be terminated by either party giving 30 days' notice in writing, prior to the next rent due date, of his intention to terminate the same, unless the rental agreement provides for a different notice period. Written notice of termination shall be given in accordance with this chapter or the lease agreement.

B. In addition to the termination rights set forth in subsection A, and notwithstanding the terms of the lease, the landlord may terminate a lease agreement in a multifamily residential building due to rehabilitation or a change in the use of all or any part of such building that contains at least four residential units, upon 120 days' prior written notice to the tenant. Changes in use shall include conversion to hotel, motel, apartment hotel, or other commercial use, planned unit development, substantial rehabilitation, demolition, or sale to a contract purchaser requiring an empty building. This 120-day notice requirement shall not be waived except in the case of a month-to-month tenancy, which may be terminated by the landlord by giving the tenant 30 days' written notice prior to the next rent due date of the landlord's intention to terminate the tenancy.

The written notice required by this section to terminate a tenancy shall not be contained in the rental agreement or lease, but shall be a separate writing.

Code 1919, § 5516; Code 1950, § 55-222; 1981, c. 155; 1986, c. 428; 1987, c. 473; 2004, c. 123; 2007, c. 634; 2013, c. 563; 2015, c. 596; 2017, c. 730; 2018, c. 221; 2019, c. 712.

§ 55.1-1411. Nonresidential buildings destroyed or lessee deprived of possession; covenant to pay rent or repair; reduction of rent.

No covenant or promise by a lessee of nonresidential property to pay the rent, or that he will keep or leave the premises in good repair, shall have the effect, if the buildings on the premises are destroyed by fire or otherwise, in whole or in part, without fault or negligence on his part, or if he is deprived of the possession of the premises by the public enemy, of binding him to make such payment or repair or erect such buildings again, unless there are other words showing it to be the intent of the parties that he should be so bound. But in case of such destruction there shall be a reasonable reduction of the rent for such time as may elapse until there are again upon the premises buildings of as much value to the tenant for his purposes as what may have been so destroyed, and, in case of such deprivation of possession, a like reduction until possession of the premises is restored to him.

Code 1919, § 5180; Code 1950, § 55-226; 2017, c. 730; 2019, c. 712.

§ 55.1-1412. Security systems for nonresidential rental property.

No landlord of a premises used for nonresidential purposes shall unreasonably withhold or delay consent for the tenant to install security systems within such premises.

1981, c. 81, § 55-226.1; 2019, c. 712.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of these sections may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.

The Virginia General Assembly is offering access to the Code of Virginia on the Internet as a service to the public. We are unable to assist users of this service with legal questions nor respond to requests for legal advice or the application of the law to specific facts. Therefore, to understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.

The Code of Virginia online database excludes material copyrighted by the publisher, Michie, a division of Matthew Bender. Copyrighted material includes annotations and revisors' notes, which may be found in the print version of the Code of Virginia. Annotated print copies of the Code of Virginia are available in most Virginia public library systems, from LexisNexis (1-800-446-3410), and from West, a Thomson-Reuters business (1-800-344-5008).