Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 17. Miscellaneous Taxes
9/21/2021

Article 3. Tax on Wills and Administrations.

§ 58.1-1711. Title.

This article shall be known and may be cited as the "Virginia Tax on Wills and Administrations Act".

1984, c. 675.

§ 58.1-1712. Levy; rate of tax.

A tax is hereby imposed on the probate of every will or grant of administration not exempt by law. The tax shall be based on the value of the estate as determined in § 58.1-1713. For every $100 of value, or fraction of $100, a tax of 10 cent(s) is imposed. However, the tax imposed by this section shall not apply to decedents' estates of $15,000 or less in value.

Code 1950, § 58-66; 1973, c. 282; 1984, c. 675; 1985, c. 474; 1988, c. 292; 1989, c. 387; 1998, c. 117; 2003, c. 195.

§ 58.1-1713. Value of the estate; time of valuation.

A. The tax imposed by this article shall be based upon the value of all property, real and personal, within the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth, which shall pass from the decedent to each beneficiary by will or intestacy. The value of all real estate shall be included although the real estate does not come into the control or possession of the personal representative for intestate administration purposes and whether or not the personal representative under a will is charged with any duty with respect to such real estate. However, in no event shall the value of real estate owned by the decedent and situated outside of the Commonwealth be considered in computing the value of the estate.

B. The value of the estate shall be determined at the time of death of the decedent, or if an alternate time of valuation has been chosen under § 2032 of the Internal Revenue Code for purposes of federal taxation, at such time.

Code 1950, §§ 58-66, 58-67; 1973, c. 282; 1984, c. 675.

§ 58.1-1714. Filing of return.

When the value of an estate exceeds $15,000, a return shall be made and filed with the clerk of court at the time the will is offered for probate or the grant of administration is sought in such court. Such return shall state, to the best of the knowledge and belief of the persons submitting the will for probate or requesting the grant of administration, (i) the value of the decedent's real estate as set forth in § 58.1-1713 based on the actual value, if known, or if actual value is not known, the appraised value of such property for local real estate tax purposes, and (ii) the estimated value of the decedent's personal property as of the date of the decedent's death. Such return shall be subject to the provisions of § 58.1-11, and the information set forth therein shall be entitled to the privilege accorded by § 58.1-3. For the purpose of § 58.1-3, the information set forth in such return shall not be deemed to be required by law to be entered on any public assessment roll or book.

Code 1950, § 58-66.1; 1974, c. 593; 1976, c. 439; 1984, c. 675; 1989, c. 387; 1998, c. 117; 2003, c. 195.

§ 58.1-1715. Payment of tax prerequisite to qualification.

No one shall be permitted to qualify and act as executor or administrator until the tax imposed by § 58.1-1712 has been paid.

Code 1950, § 58-68; 1984, c. 675.

§ 58.1-1716. Estates committed to court-appointed administrator.

When an estate is committed by order of the appropriate circuit court, or clerk thereof, to any person on the motion of a creditor or other person pursuant to § 64.2-610, the tax due under this article for such administration shall be paid by the party upon whose motion the estate was committed. The amount of tax paid by such creditor or other person shall be repaid to him by the administrator so appointed out of the first funds received by him from the sale of such estate. If an estate is committed to a person without motion the person shall be required to pay such tax as soon as assets of the estate, sufficient to cover the tax due, have come into his hands.

Code 1950, § 58-69; 1971, Ex. Sess., c. 155; 1984, c. 675.

§ 58.1-1717. Undervaluation of estate; collection of additional tax; minimum additional tax or refund payable.

The clerk of the court wherein the probate or administration tax has been paid by an estate shall thereafter compare the total value of the probate estate as shown on the probate tax return with the total value shown on the inventory of such estate to determine whether the estate has been undervalued for tax purposes. If such clerk finds that such estate has been undervalued, he shall thereupon collect such additional tax as may be due. In the event of an overpayment of such tax, the personal representative may apply to the Department of Taxation and, if a local probate tax was paid, to the treasurer of the city or county for a refund. No additional tax shall be payable or no refund made if the payment or refund due would be less than twenty-five dollars.

Code 1950, § 58-70; 1973, c. 446; 1978, c. 838; 1983, c. 140; 1984, c. 675; 1989, c. 223.

§ 58.1-1717.1. Tax in lieu of probate tax.

A $25 fee is hereby charged on the recordation of a list of heirs pursuant to § 64.2-509 or an affidavit pursuant to § 64.2-510 unless a will has been probated for the decedent or there has been a grant of administration on the decedent's estate.

2010, c. 266.

§ 58.1-1718. City or county probate tax.

In addition to the state tax and fee imposed by §§ 58.1-1712 and 58.1-1717.1, the governing body of any county and the council of any city may, as provided in § 58.1-3805, (i) impose a county or city tax in an amount equal to one-third of the amount of the state tax on the probate of a will or grant of administration on the probate of every such will or grant of administration and (ii) charge a $25 fee for the recordation of a list of heirs pursuant to § 64.2-509 or an affidavit pursuant to § 64.2-510, as provided in § 58.1-1717.1.

Code 1950, § 58-67.1; 1960, c. 60; 1984, c. 675; 2010, c. 266.

§ 58.1-1718.01. Exemption for victims of the Virginia Beach mass shooting.

A. As used in this section, "Virginia Beach mass shooting" means the mass shooting that occurred on May 31, 2019, at the Virginia Beach Municipal Center in the City of Virginia Beach.

B. No tax shall be imposed under this article on the probate of a will or grant of administration of the estate of an individual who died as a result of the Virginia Beach mass shooting.

2020, cc. 249, 278.