Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 41. Casino Gaming
12/1/2020

Article 5. Suspension and Revocation of Licenses and Supplier's Permits; Acquisition of Interest in Licensee or Holder of Supplier's Permit.

§ 58.1-4116. Suspension or revocation of license or permit.

A. The Director may suspend, revoke, refuse to renew, or assess a civil penalty against the holder of a license or permit in a sum not to exceed $100,000, after notice and a hearing. Such license or permit may, however, be temporarily suspended by the Director without prior notice, pending any prosecution, hearing, or investigation, whether by a third party or by the Director. A license may be suspended, revoked, or refused renewal by the Director for one or more of the following reasons:

1. Failure to comply with, or violation of, any provision of this chapter or any regulation or condition of the Department;

2. Failure to disclose facts during the application process that indicate that such license or permit should not have been issued;

3. Conviction of a felony under the laws of the Commonwealth or any other state or of the United States subsequent to issuance of a license or permit;

4. Failure to file any return or report, to keep any records, or to pay any fees or other charges required by this chapter;

5. Any act of fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or conduct prejudicial to public confidence in the integrity of gaming operations;

6. A material change, since issuance of the license or permit, with respect to any matters required to be considered by the Director under this chapter; or

7. Other factors established by Board regulation.

B. Such action by the Director shall be final unless appealed in accordance with § 58.1-4105. Suspension or revocation of a license or permit for any violation shall not preclude criminal liability for such violation.

2020, cc. 1197, 1248.

§ 58.1-4117. Acquisition of interest in licensee or permit holder.

The Department shall require any person desiring to become a principal of, or other investor in, any licensee or holder of a supplier's permit to apply to the Board for approval and may demand such information of the applicant as it finds necessary. The Board shall consider such application within 60 days of its receipt, and if in its judgment the acquisition by the applicant would be detrimental to the public interest, to the honesty and integrity of gaming operations, or to its reputation, the application shall be denied. All reasonable costs for review by the Board shall be borne by the applicant.

2020, cc. 1197, 1248.