Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages
Agency 5. Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
Chapter 70. Other Provisions
11/28/2021

3VAC5-70-225. Delivery permits; application process; records and reports.

A. Any person or entity qualified for a delivery permit pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of Virginia must apply for such permit by submitting Form 805-52, Retail License Application. The applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current license as a winery, farm winery, brewery, or alcoholic beverage retailer that is authorized to sell wine or beer at retail for off-premises consumption, issued by the appropriate authority for the location from which deliveries will be made and (ii) evidence of the applicant's registration with the Virginia Department of Taxation for the collection of Virginia retail sales tax.

B. Delivery permittees shall maintain for two years complete and accurate records of all deliveries made under the privileges of such permits, including for each delivery:

1. Number of containers delivered;

2. Volume of each container delivered;

3. Brand of each container delivered;

4. Names and addresses of recipients;

5. Signature of recipient; and

6. Price charged for the wine or beer delivered.

The records required by this subsection shall be made available for inspection and copying by any member of the board or its special agents upon request.

C. On or before the 15th day of each month, each delivery permittee shall file with the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, a report of activity for the previous calendar month, if any deliveries were made during the month. Such report shall include the following information for each delivery:

1. Number of containers delivered;

2. Volume of each container delivered;

3. Brand of each container delivered;

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and

5. Price charged for the wine or beer delivered.

Unless previously paid, payment of the appropriate beer or wine tax imposed by § 4.1-234 or 4.1-236 of the Code of Virginia shall accompany each report. If no wine or beer was sold and delivered in any month, the permittee shall not be required to submit a report for that month; however, every permittee must submit a report no less frequently than once every 12 months even if no sales or deliveries have been made in the preceding 12 months.

D. All deliveries by holders of delivery permits shall be performed by the owner or any agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee of the permittee.

E. No more than four cases of wine nor more than four cases of beer may be delivered at one time to any person, except that a permittee may deliver more than four cases of wine or more than four cases of beer if he notifies the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, in writing at least one business day in advance of such delivery. Any notice given pursuant to this section shall include the number of containers to be delivered, the volume of each container to be delivered, the brand of each container to be delivered, and the name and address of the intended recipient.

F. When attempting to deliver wine or beer pursuant to a delivery permit, an owner, agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee of the permittee shall require:

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that he is at least 21 years of age; and

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other acknowledgment of receipt that allows the maintenance of the records required by this section.

The owner, agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee of the permittee shall refuse delivery when the proposed recipient appears to be under the age of 21 years and refuses to present valid identifications. All permittees delivering wine or beer pursuant to this section shall affix a conspicuous notice in 16-point type or larger to the outside of each package of wine or beer delivered in the Commonwealth, in a conspicuous location stating: "CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the delivery permit number of the delivering permittee.

Statutory Authority

§§ 4.1-103, 4.1-111, and 4.1-212.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 2, eff. October 28, 2009.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.