Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
9/30/2022

Chapter 60. Consumer Finance Companies

10VAC5-60-5. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Act" means Chapter 15 (§ 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

"Advertisement" means a commercial message in any medium that promotes, directly or indirectly, a consumer finance loan. The term includes a communication sent to a consumer as part of a solicitation of business but excludes messages on promotional items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars.

"Consumer finance loan" means a loan made to an individual for personal, family, household, or other nonbusiness purposes.

"Liquid assets," for purposes of the Act and this chapter, means funds held in a checking account or savings account at a depository institution, money market funds, commercial paper, and treasury bills.

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-1500 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-10. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR225-01-0601, eff. January 1, 1993; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 22, eff. July 1, 1995.

10VAC5-60-15. Surety bond; other requirements for licensees; acquisitions.

A. Every licensee and applicant for a license shall file and continuously maintain in full force a surety bond that meets the requirements of § 6.2-1523.3 of the Code of Virginia. The minimum bond amount required shall be $25,000. The form of the bond will be prescribed and provided by the commissioner.

B. If a person has filed a surety bond with the commissioner, the bond shall be retained by the commissioner notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the following events:

1. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or denied;

2. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or revoked; or

3. The person ceases engaging in business as a consumer finance company.

C. A licensee shall at all times maintain unencumbered liquid assets of at least $25,000 per location licensed or required to be licensed under the Act. A licensee shall upon request by the bureau submit proof that it is complying with the provisions of this subsection.

D. A proposed office location specified in an application filed under § 6.2-1505 or 6.2-1508.1 A of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed to be open for purposes of the Act and this chapter effective upon the date that the application was either approved by the commission or deemed approved pursuant to § 6.2-1508.1 A.

E. A licensee shall notify the bureau in writing and pay a $250 fee within 10 days of relocating any approved office that is located either within or outside of the Commonwealth. The bureau shall furnish the licensee with a replacement license certificate that identifies the new location upon finding that the new location is in the same county, city, or town as the old location or in a contiguous county, city, or town. The licensee shall also notify the bureau in writing within 10 days of commencing business at the relocated place of business.

F. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-1507 of the Code of Virginia.

G. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other person licensed to conduct business under the Act shall pay a nonrefundable application fee of $500.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-20. Additional business requirements and restrictions.

A. Licensees shall have 10 calendar days after the date a consumer finance loan is paid in full, or a judgment is satisfied, or a borrower's obligation is otherwise terminated to accomplish the acts required by § 6.2-1524 G of the Code of Virginia.

B. A licensee shall not require a borrower to purchase or maintain property insurance for a motor vehicle used as security for a consumer finance loan from or through a particular provider or list of providers.

C. If a licensee disburses loan proceeds by means of a check, neither the licensee nor an affiliate or subsidiary of the licensee shall charge the borrower a fee for cashing the check.

D. A licensee shall give a borrower a signed and dated receipt for each cash payment made in person, which shall state the balance due on the consumer finance loan.

E. If a consumer finance loan is sold or assigned by a licensee and the servicing will be performed by another person, then the person that will be servicing the consumer finance loan shall comply with the obligations and limitations under the Act and this chapter that are applicable to licensees engaged in servicing consumer finance loans. This provision shall not apply to a person that is ineligible for licensure pursuant to § 6.2-1502 A of the Code of Virginia.

F. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to prohibit a licensee from (i) voluntarily accepting a payment on an outstanding consumer finance loan from a borrower after the date that such payment was due to the licensee or (ii) considering a payment to be timely if it is made more than 10 calendar days after its due date. However, except as otherwise permitted by the Act and this chapter, the licensee shall not charge, contract for, collect, receive, recover, or require a borrower to pay any additional interest, fees, or other amounts.

G. A licensee shall comply with all federal laws and regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, including the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.), Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026), the Equal Credit Opportunity Act (15 USC § 1691 et seq.), Regulation B (12 CFR Part 1002), and the Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information (16 CFR Part 314).

H. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of the Act and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with all consumer finance loans that the person made while licensed as a consumer finance company notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the following events:

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or revoked; or

2. The person ceases making consumer finance loans.

I. A licensee shall not provide any statement or representation with regard to the rates, terms, or conditions for loans made under the Act to a borrower or prospective borrower that is false, misleading, or deceptive.

J. A licensee shall not engage in any business or activity that directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions of the Act or this chapter.

K. Consumer finance loans made prior to January 1, 2021, that remain outstanding on or after January 1, 2021, may be collected in accordance with the preexisting terms of the loan contracts provided that such terms were permitted by law when the loans were made.

L. A licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan or vary the terms of a consumer finance loan on the condition or requirement that a borrower or prospective borrower purchase any type of credit insurance.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR225-01-0602, eff. May 1, 1976; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 20, eff. June 1, 2012; Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-25. Access partners.

A. A licensee shall not enter into or maintain a contract with another person that requires or authorizes the person to facilitate the making or servicing of a loan by providing some or all of the services described in § 6.2-1523.1 A 4 of the Code of Virginia unless (i) the person is an access partner, as defined in § 6.2-1500 of the Code of Virginia; and (ii) pursuant to such definition, the person will be providing the services from one or more physical locations in the Commonwealth. A licensee may enter into or maintain a contract with another person that is not an access partner but will perform one or more of the services described in § 6.2-1523.1 A 4 provided that (a) the services rendered by the person do not facilitate the making or servicing of a loan, and (b) the person does not receive any fees or other compensation directly from consumers.

B. A licensee's access partner shall comply with the requirements and prohibitions set forth in § 6.2-1523.1 A 2 of the Code of Virginia regardless of whether such provisions are specified in the access partner's written agreement with the licensee.

C. A licensee shall provide the commissioner with the following information in such form as the commissioner may require:

1. A list of the licensee's current access partners.

2. The physical addresses of all locations at which each access partner is performing services for the licensee.

3. A description of the services that each access partner is performing for the licensee.

4. The name, address, telephone number, and email address of an employee of the access partner who will be the point of contact for the bureau.

5. Such additional information relating to the licensee's access partners as the commissioner may require.

D. Unless otherwise directed by the commissioner, the information required by subsection C of this section shall be provided by February 15, May 15, August 15, and November 15 of each year.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-30. Repayment of loans through payroll deductions.

A. This section governs when a borrower authorizes the borrower's employer to deduct funds from the borrower's payroll (i.e., wages or other compensation for services rendered) and remit such funds, directly or indirectly, to a licensee for the purpose of repaying, in whole or in part, the borrower's consumer finance loan.

B. A licensee may offer a borrower the option of making payments on a consumer finance loan through deductions from the borrower's payroll. However, a licensee shall not require a borrower to (i) repay a consumer finance loan, in whole or in part, through one or more deductions from the borrower's payroll or (ii) execute a payroll deduction authorization or the Payroll Deduction Disclosure Form prescribed in subsection G of this section, as a condition to making a loan under the Act. For purposes of this subsection, a payroll deduction authorization includes a loan agreement or other document that contains a payroll deduction authorization.

C. If a borrower voluntarily elects to repay a consumer finance loan, in whole or in part, through payroll deductions, the licensee shall bear all costs and expenses arising from or related to the establishment or administration of such deductions.

D. When giving a borrower the option of making payments on a consumer finance loan through payroll deductions, a licensee shall furnish the borrower with the Payroll Deduction Disclosure Form prescribed in subsection G of this section. The form shall be a single document printed or typed without alteration in at least 12-point type separate from all other documents obtained by the licensee. All blanks on the form other than those blanks to be filled in with the name of the licensee shall be filled in by the borrower, and the filled-in form shall be signed and dated by the borrower. The completed form shall be kept in the separate loan file maintained with respect to the loan for the period specified in § 6.2-1533 of the Code of Virginia.

E. No licensee making a loan that will be repaid, in whole or in part, through payroll deductions shall withhold any part of the proceeds of the loan to be applied to any payment required under the loan.

F. Automatic payroll deductions that are established and administered in accordance with the provisions of this section are not subject to § 6.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia.

G. The required text of the Payroll Deduction Disclosure Form shall be as follows:

PAYROLL DEDUCTION DISCLOSURE FORM

1. I, (APPLICANT'S NAME), intend to authorize my employer to deduct funds from my (WEEKLY / BIWEEKLY / MONTHLY) paycheck in the amount of $(AMOUNT) for the purpose of making monthly payments on my loan with (CONSUMER FINANCE COMPANY). I understand that my employer will be sending this amount to (CONSUMER FINANCE COMPANY) each payroll period.

2. I am authorizing the payroll deductions voluntarily and solely for my own convenience, and I acknowledge that (CONSUMER FINANCE COMPANY) has not required me to authorize the payroll deductions, or to sign this form, as a condition to making me a loan.

3. I understand that I can cancel the payroll deductions at any time, and I understand that I am not obligated to pay any fee or charge to any person or company, directly or indirectly, for the payroll deductions.

____________________________________

___________________

Applicant's Signature

Date

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR225-01-0603, eff. April 1, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 20, eff. June 1, 2012; Errata, 37:9 VA.R. 1002 January 4, 2021; amended Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-35. Advertising.

A. A licensee shall conspicuously disclose the following information in its advertisements:

1. The name of the licensee as set forth in the license issued by the commission.

2. A statement that the licensee is "licensed by the Virginia State Corporation Commission."

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the licensee (i.e., CFI-XXX).

B. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a consumer any envelope or other written material that gives the false impression that the mailing or written material is an official communication from a governmental entity, unless required by the United States Postal Service.

C. Every advertisement used by, or published on behalf of, a licensee shall comply with the disclosure requirements for advertisements contained in Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026).

D. Every licensee shall retain for at least three years after it is last published, delivered, transmitted, or made available, an example of every advertisement used, including solicitation letters, print media proofs, commercial scripts, and recordings of all radio and television broadcasts, but excluding copies of internet web pages.

E. For purposes of this section, the term "conspicuously" means that the required disclosures are prominently located and readily noticeable by a potential borrower.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-40. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR225-01-0604, eff. February 1, 1990; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. August 15, 1995; Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. September 30, 1996; Volume 14, Issue 14, eff. March 10, 1998; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-45. Conducting other business.

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other than consumer finance lending where a licensed consumer finance lending business is conducted. As used in this section, the term "other business operator" refers to a licensed consumer finance company or third party, including an affiliate or subsidiary of the licensed consumer finance company, that conducts or wants to conduct other business from one or more consumer finance offices.

1. This section shall not apply to any other business that is transacted solely with persons residing outside of the Commonwealth.

2. If a licensee accepts loan applications, sends or receives loan-related information or documents, disburses loan funds, or accepts loan payments on or through the licensee's website or mobile application, and any other products or services are or will be offered or sold to Virginia residents on or through such website or mobile application, then the offer or sale of such other products or services shall constitute the conduct of other business and shall be subject to all of the provisions of this section to the same extent as if such other business was conducted by an other business operator from the licensee's consumer finance offices.

B. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or authority obtained under § 6.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia or a predecessor statute prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee shall not make consumer finance loans at the same location at which the licensee, or any affiliate or subsidiary of the licensee, conducts business under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) or Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. However, if prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee obtained authority under § 6.2-1518 or a predecessor statute for the licensee or its affiliate or subsidiary to make payday loans or motor vehicle title loans from the licensee's consumer finance offices, then the licensee or its affiliate or subsidiary may continue collecting payments on any outstanding payday loans or motor vehicle title loans (i) in accordance with the preexisting terms of the loan contracts provided that such terms were permitted by law when the loans were made, and (ii) subject to the general conditions set forth in subsection F of this section.

C. The sale of insurance or enrolling of borrowers under a group insurance policy by a licensee shall not constitute other business for purposes of § 6.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia or this section when such insurance covers potential risks or losses associated with consumer finance loans made by the licensee. This subsection shall be applicable only to (i) credit life insurance, credit accident and sickness insurance, credit involuntary unemployment insurance, non-filing insurance, and property insurance; and (ii) other types of insurance that the commissioner determines meet the condition prescribed in this subsection.

D. If prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee obtained authority under § 6.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia or a predecessor statute for an other business operator to conduct other business in its consumer finance offices, then the following rules shall govern:

1. If the other business is identified in subsections G through R of this section, then the other business shall be conducted in accordance with (i) the general conditions set forth in subsection F of this section and (ii) the specific conditions prescribed for such business in subsections G through R of this section. These conditions shall supersede the conditions that were prescribed by regulation or established by the commissioner at the time the authority was obtained. Subject to the conditions referenced in this subsection, the other business may be conducted in any or all of the licensee's consumer finance offices.

2. If the other business is not identified in subsections G through R of this section, then the other business shall be conducted in accordance with (i) the general conditions set forth in subsection F of this section and (ii) the most recent set of conditions that were established by the commissioner. Subject to these conditions, the other business may be conducted in any or all of the licensee's consumer finance offices.

E. Beginning January 1, 2021, if a licensee seeks to conduct the business of making consumer finance loans from one or more of its consumer finance offices in which an other business operator will conduct other business, then the licensee shall give the commissioner written notice at least 30 days prior to the conduct of the other business, pay a fee of $300, and provide the commissioner with any additional information pertaining to the other business that the commissioner may require.

1. If the other business specified in the licensee's written notice is identified in subsections G through R of this section, then the other business shall be conducted in accordance with (i) the general conditions set forth in subsection F of this section and (ii) the specific conditions prescribed for such business in subsections G through R of this section.

2. If the other business specified in the licensee's written notice is not identified in subsections G through R of this section, then the following rules shall govern:

a. The commissioner may, after providing notice to the licensee and offering the licensee an opportunity to request a hearing before the commission, prohibit or establish additional conditions for the conduct of such other business in the licensee's consumer finance offices if the commissioner finds that the other business is or would otherwise be (i) of such a nature or conducted in such a manner as to conceal or facilitate a violation or evasion of the provisions of the Act or this chapter; (ii) contrary to the public interest; or (iii) conducted in an unlawful manner.

b. Unless the conduct of such other business is prohibited, the other business shall be conducted in accordance with (i) the general conditions set forth in subsection F of this section and (ii) any specific conditions established by the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision.

3. Subject to the other provisions in this subsection and except as otherwise provided in subdivision E 2 of this section, the other business may be conducted in any or all of the licensee's consumer finance offices beginning on the earlier of (i) 30 days after the licensee furnishes the commissioner with the written notice, payment, and any additional information required by the commissioner, or (ii) the date the commissioner notifies the licensee that the other business may be conducted in the licensee's offices.

F. All other businesses conducted from a licensee's consumer finance offices shall be conducted in accordance with the following conditions:

1. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a borrower to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any amount owed in connection with the (i) goods or services sold, or (ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other business operator from the licensee's consumer finance offices.

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal and state laws and regulations applicable to its other business, including any applicable licensing or registration requirements.

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be published any advertisement or other information that contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or representation concerning its other business, including the rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or loans that it offers. The other business operator shall not make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) its being licensed to conduct the other business or (ii) the extent to which it is subject to supervision or regulation.

4. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan or vary the terms of a consumer finance loan on the condition or requirement that a person also (i) purchase a good or service from, or (ii) obtain a loan from or through, the other business operator. The other business operator shall not (a) sell its goods or services, (b) offer, facilitate, or make loans, or (c) vary the terms of its goods, services, or loans, on the condition or requirement that a person also obtain a consumer finance loan from the licensee.

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and records for its other business separate and apart from the licensee's consumer finance lending business and in a different location within the licensee's consumer finance offices. The bureau shall be given access to all such books and records and be furnished with any information and records that it may require in order to determine compliance with all applicable conditions, laws, and regulations.

G. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting open-end credit business from a licensee's consumer finance offices, which, for purposes of this section, includes a line of credit business, a revolving loan business, and the servicing of open-end loans, lines of credit, and revolving loans:

1. The open-end credit business shall be conducted by a separate legal entity and not by the licensee.

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding open-end loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full an open-end loan from the other business operator.

3. The other business operator shall not make an open-end loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance loan from the licensee.

4. The licensee and other business operator shall not make a consumer finance loan and an open-end loan contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a loan or credit.

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide each applicant for a consumer finance loan or open-end loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the licensee's consumer finance offices along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan product.

H. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting business under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. Pursuant to § 6.2-1507 A 4 of the Code of Virginia, the other business shall be conducted by a person other than the licensee or an affiliate or subsidiary of the licensee.

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding short-term loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a short-term loan from the other business operator.

3. The other business operator shall not make a short-term loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance loan from the licensee.

4. The licensee and other business operator shall not make a consumer finance loan and a short-term loan contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a loan or credit.

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide each applicant for a consumer finance loan or short-term loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the licensee's consumer finance offices along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan product.

I. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting business under Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. Pursuant to § 6.2-1507 A 4 of the Code of Virginia, the other business shall be conducted by a person other than the licensee or an affiliate or subsidiary of the licensee.

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding motor vehicle title loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title loan from the other business operator.

3. The other business operator shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance loan from the licensee.

4. The licensee and other business operator shall not make a consumer finance loan and a motor vehicle title loan contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a loan or credit.

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide each applicant for a consumer finance loan or motor vehicle title loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the licensee's consumer finance offices along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan product.

J. The following additional condition shall be applicable to conducting a mortgage lender or mortgage broker business from a licensee's consumer finance offices: the licensee and other business operator shall not make a consumer finance loan and make or broker a mortgage loan contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a loan or credit.

K. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting an auto club membership business from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. A membership shall not be sold to any person who does not own or lease an automobile, motorcycle, mobile home, truck, van, or other vehicle operated on public highways and streets.

2. A renewal membership shall not be offered or sold more than one month prior to the expiration of a current membership term.

3. A membership shall not be offered or sold for more than a three-year term.

L. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting business as an authorized delegate or agent of a money order seller or money transmitter from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. The other business operator shall be and remain a party to a written agreement to act as an authorized delegate or agent of a person licensed or exempt from licensing as a money order seller or money transmitter under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

2. The other business operator shall not engage in money order sales or money transmission services on its own behalf or on behalf of any person other than a licensed or exempt money order seller or money transmitter with whom it has a written agreement.

M. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting the business of (i) tax preparation or electronic tax filing services, or (ii) facilitating third party tax preparation or electronic tax filing services, from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. The other business operator shall not engage in the business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the Internal Revenue Service or other government instrumentalities, or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery to individuals, unless licensed or exempt from licensing under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax refund.

N. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting the business of facilitating or arranging tax refund anticipation loans or tax refund payments from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. The other business operator shall not engage in the business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments for delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from licensing under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

2. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as a result of a consumer finance loan transaction.

3. The other business operator and the licensee shall not facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment and make a consumer finance loan contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a loan or credit.

4. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax refund.

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide each applicant for a consumer finance loan or tax refund anticipation loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the licensee's consumer finance offices along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan product.

O. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to conducting business as a check casher from a licensee's consumer finance offices:

1. Pursuant to § 6.2-2107 of the Code of Virginia, the check casher business shall be conducted by a person other than the licensee unless the licensee would not be required to be registered under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

2. The other business operator shall not charge a fee to cash a check issued by the licensee or any other person operating in the licensee's consumer finance offices.

P. The following additional condition shall be applicable to conducting the business of operating an automated teller machine from a licensee's consumer finance offices: the other business operator shall not charge a fee or receive other compensation in connection with the use of its automated teller machine by a person when the person is withdrawing funds in order to make a payment on a loan that was made by the licensee or any other lender conducting business from the licensee's consumer finance offices.

Q. The following additional condition shall be applicable to conducting the business of selling noncredit-related life insurance from a licensee's consumer finance offices: the licensee and other business operator shall comply with 10VAC5-70, Sale of Noncredit-Related Life Insurance in Consumer Finance Offices.

R. The conduct of the following businesses from a licensee's consumer finance offices shall have no conditions other than the conditions prescribed in subsection F of this section:

1. Mortgage servicing business.

2. Sales finance business.

S. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the commissioner may, after providing notice to affected licensees and offering them an opportunity to request a hearing before the commission, establish additional conditions for the conduct of any other business in consumer finance offices if the commissioner finds that the other business is or would otherwise be (i) of such a nature or conducted in such a manner as to conceal or facilitate a violation or evasion of the provisions of the Act or this chapter; (ii) contrary to the public interest; or (iii) conducted in an unlawful manner.

T. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to comply with any provision of this section or any condition established by the commissioner, or failure by a licensee to comply with the Act or this chapter, may result in revocation of the authority to conduct other business or any form of enforcement action specified in 10VAC5-60-65.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-50. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR225-01-0605, eff. February 1, 1990; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. August 15, 1995; Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. September 30, 1996; Volume 14, Issue 14, eff. March 10, 1998; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-55. Books, accounts, and records; responding to requests from the bureau; providing false, misleading, or deceptive information.

A. A licensee shall maintain in its approved offices such books, accounts, and records as the bureau may reasonably require in order to determine whether the licensee is complying with the Act and this chapter. Such books, accounts, and records shall be maintained (i) for at least three years after a consumer finance loan is satisfied or paid in full or a consumer finance loan application is denied; and (ii) separate and apart from those relating to any other business conducted in the approved offices.

B. A licensee may maintain records electronically provided that (i) the records are readily available for examination by the bureau and (ii) the licensee complies with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the Electronic Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act (15 USC § 7001 et seq.).

C. If a licensee disposes of records containing a consumer's personal financial information following the expiration of any applicable record retention periods, such records shall be shredded, incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure manner. Licensees may arrange for service from a business record destruction vendor.

D. When the bureau requests a written response, books, records, documentation, or other information from a licensee in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee shall deliver a written response as well as any requested books, records, documentation, or information within the time period specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is specified, a written response as well as any requested books, records, documentation, or information shall be delivered by the licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date of such request. In determining the specified time period for responding to the bureau and when considering a request for an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into consideration the volume and complexity of the requested written response, books, records, documentation, or information, and such other factors as the bureau determines to be relevant under the circumstances. Requests made by the bureau pursuant to this subsection are deemed to be in furtherance of the investigation and examination authority provided for in §§ 6.2-1530 and 6.2-1531 of the Code of Virginia.

E. A licensee shall not provide any false, misleading, or deceptive information to the bureau.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-60. Schedule prescribing annual fees paid for examination, supervision, and regulation of consumer finance companies.

Pursuant to § 6.2-1532 of the Code of Virginia, the following schedule sets the fees to be paid annually by licensees to defray the costs of examination, supervision, and regulation of licensees by the bureau:

Minimum fee - $300 per office open January 1 of the current calendar year.

In addition to the minimum fee, the following fee based on total assets:

SCHEDULE

Total Assets

Fee

Over $300,000 - $750,000

$.85 per $1,000 or fraction thereof

$750,000 - $2,000,000

$.70 per $1,000 or fraction thereof

Over $2,000,000

$.55 per $1,000 or fraction thereof

The annual fee for each licensee will be computed on the basis of its total assets combined with the total assets of its affiliates conducting business in any of its authorized offices as of the close of business December 31 of the preceding calendar year. The amounts of such total assets will be derived from the annual reports that § 6.2-1534 of the Code of Virginia requires licensees to file with the bureau on or before the first day of April of each year.

In accordance with § 6.2-1532 of the Code of Virginia, annual fees for any given calendar year will be assessed on or before May 1 of that year and must be paid on or before June 1 of that year.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR225-01-0606, eff. April 14, 1983; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 20, eff. June 1, 2012; Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-65. Enforcement; civil penalties.

A. Failure to comply with any provision of the Act or this chapter may result in civil penalties, license suspension, license revocation, or other appropriate enforcement action.

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-1543 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee shall be subject to a separate civil penalty of up to $10,000 for every violation of the Act, this chapter, or a commission order that occurred knowingly or without the exercise of due care to prevent the violation. If a licensee violates a provision of the Act, this chapter, or a commission order in connection with multiple loans or borrowers, the licensee shall be subject to a separate civil penalty per violation for each loan or borrower.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

10VAC5-60-70. Commission authority.

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause shown.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. April 15, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.