Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
9/27/2021

Chapter 20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and Chiropractic

Part I
General Provisions

18VAC85-20-10. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia:

Board

Healing arts

Practice of chiropractic

Practice of medicine or osteopathic medicine

Practice of podiatry

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Approved institution" means any accredited school or college of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or chiropractic located in the United States, its territories, or Canada.

"Principal site" means the location in a foreign country where teaching and clinical facilities are located.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. November 27, 1996; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004.

18VAC85-20-20. Public Participation Guidelines.

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, entitled Public Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.2, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

18VAC85-20-21. Current addresses.

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current address of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when sent to the latest address of record given by the licensee. Any change in the address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 23, eff. August 19, 2009; Volume 35, Issue 12, eff. March 22, 2019.

18VAC85-20-22. Required fees.

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board shall not be refundable.

B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made payable as designated by the board.

C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry shall be $302, and the fee for licensure in chiropractic shall be $277.

D. The fee for a temporary authorization to practice medicine pursuant to clauses (i) and (ii) of § 54.1-2927 B of the Code of Virginia shall be $25.

E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow license issued pursuant to 18VAC85-20-210 shall be $55. The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited professorial or fellow license in 2020, the fee shall be $30. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.

F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and residents pursuant to 18VAC85-20-220 shall be $55. The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited license to interns and residents in 2020, the fee shall be $30. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.

G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00.

H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be $337 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $312 for licensure in chiropractic, due in each even-numbered year in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be $115 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $105 for licensure in chiropractic. For renewal of licensure in 2020, the fee shall be $270 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $250 for licensure in chiropractic.

I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure or certification pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia or for requesting reinstatement after any petition to reinstate the certificate or license of any person has been denied shall be $2,000.

J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia that has expired for a period of two years or more shall be $497 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry ($382 for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of $115) and $472 for licensure in chiropractic ($367 for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of $105). The fee shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.

K. The fee for a letter of verification of licensure shall be $10, and the fee for certification of grades to another jurisdiction by the board shall be $25.

L. The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall be $168, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $55 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of an inactive license in 2020, the fee shall be $135.

M. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $75, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $25 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of a restricted volunteer license in 2020, the fee shall be $60.

N. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $50.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 4, eff. December 8, 1999; Volume 16, Issue 13, eff. April 12, 2000; Volume 16, Issue 21, eff. August 2, 2000; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 20, Issue 20, eff. July 14, 2004; Volume 22, Issue 9, eff. February 8, 2006; Volume 24, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2008; Volume 24, Issue 14, eff. April 16, 2008; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 29, Issue 26, eff. September 25, 2013; Volume 32, Issue 9, eff. January 27, 2016; Volume 34, Issue 7, eff. December 27, 2017; Volume 34, Issue 16, eff. May 2, 2018; Volume 36, Issue 1, eff. October 2, 2019; Volume 36, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2020.

Part II
Standards of Professional Conduct

18VAC85-20-25. Treating and prescribing for self or family.

A. Treating or prescribing shall be based on a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship, and prescribing shall meet the criteria set forth in § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia.

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe a controlled substance to himself or a family member, other than Schedule VI as defined in § 54.1-3455 of the Code of Virginia, unless the prescribing occurs in an emergency situation or in isolated settings where there is no other qualified practitioner available to the patient, or it is for a single episode of an acute illness through one prescribed course of medication.

C. When treating or prescribing for self or family, the practitioner shall maintain a patient record documenting compliance with statutory criteria for a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-26. Patient records.

A. Practitioners shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and disclosure of patient records.

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another practitioner or to the patient or the patient's personal representative in a timely manner in accordance with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.

C. Practitioners shall properly manage patient records and shall maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete patient records.

D. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years following the last patient encounter with the following exceptions:

1. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, shall be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated, with a minimum time for record retention of six years from the last patient encounter regardless of the age of the child;

2. Records that have previously been transferred to another practitioner or health care provider or provided to the patient or the patient's personal representative; or

3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time.

E. Practitioners shall post information or in some manner inform all patients concerning the timeframe for record retention and destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by incineration or shredding.

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling, or relocating his practice, he shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of records can be sent to any like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or provided to the patient.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005; amended Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-27. Confidentiality.

A. A practitioner shall not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between a practitioner and a patient. A breach of confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent or willful.

B. Unauthorized use or disclosure of confidential information received from the Prescription Monitoring Program shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 22, eff. August 4, 2010.

18VAC85-20-28. Practitioner-patient communication; termination of relationship.

A. Communication with patients.

1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately inform a patient or his legally authorized representative of his medical diagnoses, prognosis and prescribed treatment or plan of care. A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or misleading statement regarding the practitioner's skill or the efficacy or value of a medication, treatment, or procedure prescribed or directed by the practitioner in the treatment of any disease or condition.

2. A practitioner shall present information relating to the patient's care to a patient or his legally authorized representative in understandable terms and encourage participation in the decisions regarding the patient's care.

3. Before surgery or any invasive procedure is performed, informed consent shall be obtained from the patient in accordance with the policies of the health care entity. Practitioners shall inform patients of the risks, benefits, and alternatives of the recommended surgery or invasive procedure that a reasonably prudent practitioner in similar practice in Virginia would tell a patient.

a. In the instance of a minor or a patient who is incapable of making an informed decision on his own behalf or is incapable of communicating such a decision due to a physical or mental disorder, the legally authorized person available to give consent shall be informed and the consent documented.

b. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to performance of surgery or an invasive procedure may be made in an emergency situation when a delay in obtaining consent would likely result in imminent harm to the patient.

c. For the purposes of this provision, "invasive procedure" means any diagnostic or therapeutic procedure performed on a patient that is not part of routine, general care and for which the usual practice within the health care entity is to document specific informed consent from the patient or surrogate decision maker prior to proceeding.

4. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in human research with the exception of retrospective chart reviews.

B. Termination of the practitioner/patient relationship.

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make a copy of the patient record available, except in situations where denial of access is allowed by law.

2. Except as provided in § 54.1-2962.2 of the Code of Virginia, a practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or make his services unavailable without documented notice to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the services of another practitioner.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-29. Practitioner responsibility.

A. A practitioner shall not:

1. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners shall delegate patient care only to subordinates who are properly trained and supervised;

2. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or an interaction in a health care setting that interferes with patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or

3. Exploit the practitioner and patient relationship for personal gain.

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior prohibited in subdivision A 2 of this section.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005; amended Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-30. Advertising ethics.

A. Any statement specifying a fee, whether standard, discounted or free, for professional services which does not include the cost of all related procedures, services and products which, to a substantial likelihood, will be necessary for the completion of the advertised service as it would be understood by an ordinarily prudent person shall be deemed to be deceptive or misleading, or both.  Where reasonable disclosure of all relevant variables and considerations is made, a statement of a range of prices for specifically described services shall not be deemed to be deceptive or misleading.

B. Advertising a discounted or free service, examination, or treatment and charging for any additional service, examination, or treatment that is performed as a result of and within 72 hours of the initial office visit in response to such advertisement is unprofessional conduct unless such professional services rendered are as a result of a bonafide emergency.  This provision may not be waived by agreement of the patient and the practitioner.

C. Advertisements of discounts shall disclose the full fee that has been discounted.  The practitioner shall maintain documented evidence to substantiate the discounted fees and shall make such information available to a consumer upon request.

D. A licensee shall disclose the complete name of the specialty board that conferred the certification when using or authorizing the use of the term "board certified" or any similar words or phrase calculated to convey the same meaning in any advertising for his practice.

E. A licensee of the board shall not advertise information that is false, misleading, or deceptive.  For an advertisement for a single practitioner, it shall be presumed that the practitioner is responsible and accountable for the validity and truthfulness of its content.  For an advertisement for a practice in which there is more than one practitioner, the name of the practitioner or practitioners responsible and accountable for the content of the advertisement shall be documented and maintained by the practice for at least two years.

F. Documentation, scientific and otherwise, supporting claims made in an advertisement shall be maintained and available for the board's review for at least two years.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.3, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 13, 2005; Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005; Volume 23, Issue 20, eff. August 25, 2007.

18VAC85-20-40. Vitamins, minerals and food supplements.

A. The recommendation or direction for the use of vitamins, minerals or food supplements and the rationale for that recommendation shall be documented by the practitioner. The recommendation or direction shall be based upon a reasonable expectation that such use will result in a favorable patient outcome, including preventive practices, and that a greater benefit will be achieved than that which can be expected without such use.

B. Vitamins, minerals, or food supplements, or a combination of the three, shall not be sold, dispensed, recommended, prescribed, or suggested in doses that would be contraindicated based on the individual patient's overall medical condition and medications.

C. The practitioner shall conform to the standards of his particular branch of the healing arts in the therapeutic application of vitamins, minerals or food supplement therapy.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.4, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-50. Anabolic steroids.

A practitioner shall not sell, prescribe, or administer anabolic steroids to any patient for other than accepted therapeutic purposes.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.5, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-60. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

18VAC85-20-80. Solicitation or remuneration in exchange for referral.

A practitioner shall not knowingly and willfully solicit or receive any remuneration, directly or indirectly, in return for referring an individual to a facility or institution as defined in § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, or hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.

Remuneration shall be defined as compensation, received in cash or in kind, but shall not include any payments, business arrangements, or payment practices allowed by 42 USC § 1320a-7b(b), as amended, or any regulations promulgated thereto.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.8, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-90. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss.

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control.

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following conditions are met:

1. An appropriate history and physical examination are performed and recorded at the time of initiation of pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as indicated, including testing for thyroid function;

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect cardiac function, the physician shall review the results of an electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 days of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity;

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is prescribed and recorded;

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss by the prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may be necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of drug therapy;

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, including the intervals for patient visits and the continuation of or any subsequent changes in pharmacotherapy. Continuation of prescribing for treatment of obesity shall occur only if the patient has continued progress toward achieving or maintaining a target weight and has no significant adverse effects from the prescribed program.

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a supervising or patient care team physician, a physician assistant or nurse practitioner may perform the physical examination, review tests, and prescribe Schedules III through VI controlled substances for treatment of obesity, as specified in subsection B of this section.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.9, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 13, Issue 5, eff. December 25, 1996; Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005; Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. July 16, 2015; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-91. Practice and supervision of laser hair removal.

A. A doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine may perform or supervise the performance of laser hair removal upon completion of training in the following:

1. Skin physiology and histology;

2. Skin type and appropriate patient selection;

3. Laser safety;

4. Operation of laser device to be used;

5. Recognition of potential complications and response to any actual complication resulting from a laser hair removal treatment; and

6. A minimum number of 10 proctored patient cases with demonstrated competency in treating various skin types.

B. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who have been performing laser hair removal prior to August 7, 2019, are not required to complete training specified in subsection A of this section.

C. A doctor who delegates the practice of laser hair removal and provides supervision to a person other than a licensed physician assistant or licensed nurse practitioner shall ensure that such person has completed the training required in subsection A of this section.

D. A doctor who performs laser hair removal or who supervises others in the practice shall receive ongoing training as necessary to maintain competency in new techniques and laser devices. The doctor shall ensure that persons the doctor supervises also receive ongoing training to maintain competency.

E. A doctor may delegate laser hair removal to a properly trained person under the doctor's direction and supervision. Direction and supervision shall mean that the doctor is readily available at the time laser hair removal is being performed. The supervising doctor is not required to be physically present but is required to see and evaluate a patient for whom the treatment has resulted in complications prior to the continuance of laser hair removal treatment.

F. Prescribing of medication shall be in accordance with § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 23, eff. August 7, 2019.

18VAC85-20-100. Sexual contact.

A. For purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 12 and A 19 of the Code of Virginia and this section, sexual contact includes, but is not limited to, sexual behavior or verbal or physical behavior that:

1. May reasonably be interpreted as intended for the sexual arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, or both; or

2. May reasonably be interpreted as romantic involvement with a patient regardless of whether such involvement occurs in the professional setting or outside of it.

B. Sexual contact with a patient.

1. The determination of when a person is a patient for purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 19 of the Code of Virginia is made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the nature, extent, and context of the professional relationship between the practitioner and the person. The fact that a person is not actively receiving treatment or professional services from a practitioner is not determinative of this issue. A person is presumed to remain a patient until the patient-practitioner relationship is terminated.

2. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a practitioner by a patient does not change the nature of the conduct nor negate the statutory prohibition.

C. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former patient after termination of the practitioner-patient relationship may still constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence of emotions derived from the professional relationship.

D. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a key third party shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge or influence derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. For purposes of this section, key third party of a patient means spouse or partner, parent or child, guardian, or legal representative of the patient.

E. Sexual contact between a medical supervisor and a medical trainee shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge or influence derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.10, eff. October 4, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 13, 2005; Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-105. Refusal to provide information.

A practitioner shall not willfully refuse to provide information or records as requested or required by the board or its representative pursuant to an investigation or to the enforcement of a statute or regulation.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 1, eff. October 19, 2005.

18VAC85-20-110. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 2.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. November 27, 1996; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

Part III
Licensure: General and Educational Requirements

18VAC85-20-120. Prerequisites to licensure.

Every applicant for licensure shall:

1. Meet the educational requirements specified in 18VAC85-20-121 or 18VAC85-20-122 and the examination requirements as specified for each profession in 18VAC85-20-140;

2. File the complete application and appropriate fee as specified in 18VAC85-20-22 with the executive director of the board; and

3. File the required credentials with the executive director as specified below:

a. Graduates of an approved institution shall file:

(1) Documentary evidence that he received a degree from the institution; and

(2) A complete chronological record of all professional activities since graduation from professional school, giving location, dates, and types of services performed.

b. Graduates of an institution not approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board shall file:

(1) Documentary evidence of education as required by 18VAC85-20-122;

(2) A translation made and endorsed by a consul or by a professional translating service of all such documents not in the English language; and

(3) A complete chronological record of all professional activities since graduation from professional school, giving location, dates, and types of services performed.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 2.2, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012.

18VAC85-20-121. Educational requirements: graduates of approved institutions.

A. Such an applicant shall be a graduate of an institution that meets the criteria appropriate to the profession in which he seeks to be licensed, which are as follows:

1. For licensure in medicine. The institution shall be approved or accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education or other official accrediting body recognized by the American Medical Association, or by the Committee for the Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools or its appropriate subsidiary agencies or any other organization approved by the board.

2. For licensure in osteopathic medicine. The institution shall be approved or accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Committee on Osteopathic College Accreditation or any other organization approved by the board.

3. For licensure in podiatry. The institution shall be approved and recommended by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association or any other organization approved by the board.

B. Such an applicant for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry shall provide evidence of having completed 12 months of satisfactory postgraduate training as an intern or resident in one program or institution when such a program or institution is approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board for internship and residency training.

C. For licensure in chiropractic.

1. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college prior to July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a chiropractic college accredited by the American Chiropractic Association or the International Chiropractic Association or any other organization approved by the board.

2. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college on or after July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a chiropractic college accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council of Chiropractic Education or any other organization approved by the board.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 32, Issue 1, eff. October 7, 2015; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-122. Educational requirements: graduates and former students of institutions not approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board.

A. A graduate of an institution not approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board shall present documentary evidence that he:

1. Was enrolled and physically in attendance at the institution's principal site for a minimum of two consecutive years and fulfilled at least half of the degree requirements while enrolled two consecutive academic years at the institution's principal site.

2. Has received a degree from the institution.

3. Has fulfilled the applicable requirements of § 54.1-2930 of the Code of Virginia.

4. Has obtained a certificate from the Educational Council of Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG), or its equivalent. Proof of licensure by the board of another state or territory of the United States or a province of Canada may be accepted in lieu of ECFMG certification.

5. Has had supervised clinical training as a part of his curriculum in an approved hospital, institution, or school of medicine offering an approved residency program in the specialty area for the clinical training received or in a program acceptable to the board and deemed a substantially equivalent experience, if such training was received in the United States.

6. Has completed one year of satisfactory postgraduate training as an intern, resident, or clinical fellow. The one year shall include at least 12 months in one program or institution approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board for internship or residency training or in a clinical fellowship acceptable to the board in the same or a related field.

The board may substitute continuous full-time practice of five years or more with a limited professorial license in Virginia and one year of postgraduate training in a foreign country in lieu of one year of postgraduate training.

B. A former student who has completed all degree requirements except social services and postgraduate internship at a school not approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board shall be considered for licensure provided that he:

1. Has fulfilled the requirements of subdivisions A 1 and A 3 through A 6 of this section;

2. Has qualified for and completed an appropriate supervised clinical training program as established by the American Medical Association; and

3. Presents a document issued by the school certifying that he has met all the formal requirements of the institution for a degree except social services and postgraduate internship.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 21, eff. July 30, 2003; Volume 22, Issue 26, eff. October 4, 2006; Volume 32, Issue 1, eff. October 7, 2015; Volume 34, Issue 2, eff. October 18, 2017; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-130. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 2.3, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. November 27, 1996.

18VAC85-20-131. Requirements to practice acupuncture.

A. To be qualified to practice acupuncture, licensed doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, and chiropractic shall first have obtained at least 200 hours of instruction in general and basic aspects of the practice of acupuncture, specific uses and techniques of acupuncture, and indications and contraindications for acupuncture administration. At least 50 hours of the 200 hours of instruction shall be clinical experience supervised by a person legally authorized to practice acupuncture in any jurisdiction of the United States. Persons who held a license as a physician acupuncturist prior to July 1, 2000, shall not be required to obtain the 50 hours of clinical experience.

B. The use of acupuncture as a treatment modality shall be appropriate to the doctor's scope of practice as defined in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 21, eff. August 2, 2000; Volume 18, Issue 4, eff. December 5, 2001; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012.

Part IV
Licensure: Examination Requirements

18VAC85-20-140. Examinations, general.

A. The Executive Director of the Board of Medicine or his designee shall review each application for licensure and in no case shall an applicant be licensed unless there is evidence that the applicant has passed an examination equivalent to the Virginia Board of Medicine examination required at the time he was examined and meets all requirements of Part III (18VAC85-20-120 et seq.) of this chapter. If the executive director or his designee is not fully satisfied that the applicant meets all applicable requirements of Part III of this chapter and this part, the executive director or his designee shall refer the application to the Credentials Committee for a determination on licensure.

B. A doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine who has passed the examination of the National Board of Medical Examiners or of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners, Federation Licensing Examination, or the United States Medical Licensing Examination, or the examination of the Licensing Medical Council of Canada or other such examinations as prescribed in § 54.1-2913.1 of the Code of Virginia may be accepted for licensure.

C. A doctor of podiatry who has passed the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examination and has passed a clinical competence examination acceptable to the board may be accepted for licensure.

D. A doctor of chiropractic who has met the requirements of one of the following may be accepted for licensure:

1. An applicant who graduated after January 31, 1996, shall document successful completion of Parts I, II, III, and IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners examination (NBCE).

2. An applicant who graduated from January 31, 1991, to January 31, 1996, shall document successful completion of Parts I, II, and III of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners examination (NBCE).

3. An applicant who graduated from July 1, 1965, to January 31, 1991, shall document successful completion of Parts I, II, and III of the NBCE, or Parts I and II of the NBCE and the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC), and document evidence of licensure in another state for at least two years immediately preceding his application.

4. An applicant who graduated prior to July 1, 1965, shall document successful completion of the SPEC, and document evidence of licensure in another state for at least two years immediately preceding his application.

E. Applicants who sat for the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) or the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensure Examination (COMLEX-USA) shall provide evidence of passing all steps within a 10-year period unless the applicant is board certified in a specialty approved by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of the American Osteopathic Association.

F. Applicants for licensure in podiatry shall provide evidence of having passed the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners Examination to be eligible to sit for the Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination (PMLEXIS) in Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 3.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 17, Issue 8, eff. January 31, 2001; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 24, Issue 1, eff. October 17, 2007; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-141. Licensure by endorsement.

To be licensed by endorsement, an applicant shall:

1. Hold at least one current, unrestricted license in a United States jurisdiction or Canada for the five years immediately preceding application to the board;

2. Have been engaged in active practice, defined as an average of 20 hours per week or 640 hours per year, for five years after postgraduate training and immediately preceding application;

3. Verify that all licenses held in another United States jurisdiction or in Canada are in good standing, defined as current and unrestricted, or if lapsed, eligible for renewal or reinstatement;

4. Hold current certification by one of the following:

a. American Board of Medical Specialties;

b. Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists;

c. American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery;

d. American Board of Podiatric Medicine;

e. Fellowship of Royal College of Physicians of Canada;

f. Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada; or

g. College of Family Physicians of Canada;

5. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank; and

6. Have no grounds for denial based on provisions of § 54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the board.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 34, Issue 25, eff. September 5, 2018; amended, Virginia Register Volume 36, Issue 2, eff. November 1, 2019.

18VAC85-20-150. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 3.2, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004.

18VAC85-20-160. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 §§ 3.4 and 4.1 to 4.4, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. November 27, 1996; repealed Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

Part V
Limited or Temporary Licenses

18VAC85-20-210. Limited licenses to foreign medical graduates.

A. A physician who graduated from an institution not approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board applying for a limited professorial license or a limited fellow license to practice medicine in an approved medical school or college in Virginia shall:

1. Submit evidence of authorization to practice medicine in a foreign country.

2. Submit evidence of a standard Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) certificate or its equivalent. Such required evidence may be waived by the Credentials Committee or its designee based on other evidence of medical competency and English proficiency.

3. Submit a recommendation from the dean of an accredited medical school in Virginia that the applicant is a person of professorial or of fellow rank whose knowledge and special training meet the requirements of § 54.1-2936 of the Code of Virginia.

B. The limited professorial license or limited fellow license applies only to the practice of medicine in hospitals and outpatient clinics where medical students, interns or residents rotate and patient care is provided by the medical school or college recommending the applicant.

1. The limited professorial license shall be valid for one year and may be renewed annually upon recommendation of the dean of the medical school and upon continued full-time service as a faculty member.

2. The limited fellow license shall be valid for one year and may be renewed not more than twice upon the recommendation of the dean of the medical school and upon continued full-time employment as a fellow.

C. An individual who has practiced with a limited professorial license for five continuous years may have a waiver when applying for a full license to practice medicine in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The limited professorial licensee applying for a full license shall meet the requirements of 18VAC85-20-120 and 18VAC85-20-122.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 4.5, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 19, Issue 21, eff. July 30, 2003; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004.

18VAC85-20-220. Temporary licenses to interns and residents.

A. An intern or resident applying for a temporary license to practice in Virginia shall:

1. Successfully complete the preliminary academic education required for admission to examinations given by the board in his particular field of practice, and submit a letter of confirmation from the registrar of the school or college conferring the professional degree, or official transcripts confirming the professional degree and date the degree was received.

2. Submit a recommendation from the applicant's chief or director of graduate medical education of the approved internship or residency program specifying acceptance. The beginning and ending dates of the internship or residency shall be specified.

3. Submit evidence of a standard Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) certificate or its equivalent if the candidate graduated from a school not approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board.

B. The intern or resident license applies only to the practice in the hospital or outpatient clinics where the internship or residency is served. Outpatient clinics in a hospital or other facility must be a recognized part of an internship or residency program.

C. The intern or resident license shall be renewed annually upon the recommendation of the chief or director of graduate medical education of the internship or residency program.

A residency program transfer request shall be submitted to the board in lieu of a full application.

D. The extent and scope of the duties and professional services rendered by the intern or resident shall be confined to persons who are bona fide patients within the hospital or who receive treatment and advice in an outpatient department of the hospital or outpatient clinic where the internship or residency is served.

E. The intern and resident shall be responsible and accountable at all times to a fully licensed member of the faculty where the internship or residency is served. The intern and resident is prohibited from employment outside of the graduate medical educational program where a full license is required.

F. The intern or resident shall abide by the respective accrediting requirements of the internship or residency as approved by the Liaison Council on Graduate Education of the American Medical Association, American Osteopathic Association, American Podiatric Medical Association, or Council on Chiropractic Education.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 5.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-225. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licenses.

Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or chiropractic who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under subdivision A 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least five business days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates, and the location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of subdivision A 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 24, eff. September 3, 2008; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-226. Restricted volunteer license.

A. Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic who held an unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another state as a licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or became inactive may be issued a restricted volunteer license to practice without compensation in a clinic that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health care services without charge in accordance with § 54.1-106 of the Code of Virginia.

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic shall submit an application to the board that documents compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-20-22.

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a restricted volunteer license shall renew biennially during his birth month, meet the continued competency requirements prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-20-22.

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first renewal of such a license. For each renewal thereafter, the licensee shall attest to 30 hours obtained during the two years immediately preceding renewal with at least 15 hours of Type 1 activities or courses offered by an accredited sponsor or organization sanctioned by the profession and no more than 15 hours of Type 2 activities or courses.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2008.

Part VI
Renewal of License; Reinstatement

18VAC85-20-230. Renewal of an active license.

A. Every licensee who intends to maintain an active license shall renew his license biennially during his birth month, meet the continued competency requirements prescribed in 18VAC85-20-235, and pay to the board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-20-22.

B. An additional fee to cover administrative costs for processing a late application shall be imposed by the board as prescribed in subsection H of 18VAC85-20-22.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 5.2, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 16, Issue 4, eff. December 8, 1999; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004.

18VAC85-20-235. Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license.

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a practitioner shall attest to completion of at least 60 hours of continuing learning activities within the two years immediately preceding renewal as follows:

1. A minimum of 30 of the 60 hours shall be in Type 1 activities or courses offered by an accredited sponsor or organization sanctioned by the profession.

a. Type 1 hours in chiropractic shall be clinical hours that are approved by a college or university accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education or any other organization approved by the board.

b. Type 1 hours in podiatry shall be accredited by the American Podiatric Medical Association, the American Council of Certified Podiatric Physicians and Surgeons or any other organization approved by the board.

2. No more than 30 of the 60 hours may be Type 2 activities or courses, which may or may not be approved by an accredited sponsor or organization but which shall be chosen by the licensee to address such areas as ethics, standards of care, patient safety, new medical technology, and patient communication.

a. Up to 15 of the Type 2 continuing education hours may be satisfied through delivery of services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving services through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of health services. One hour of continuing education may be credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services. For the purpose of continuing education credit for voluntary service, documentation by the health department or free clinic shall be acceptable.

b. Type 2 hours may include teaching in a health care profession field.

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing competency requirements for the first biennial renewal following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records all supporting documentation for a period of six years following the renewal of an active license.

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners selected for the audit shall provide all supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the audit.

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for continuing competency requirements for up to one year for good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date.

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the requirements for a licensee who:

1. Is practicing solely in an uncompensated position, provided his practice is under the direction of a physician fully licensed by the board; or

2. Is practicing solely as a medical examiner, provided the licensee obtains six hours of medical examiner training per year provided by the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 4, eff. December 8, 1999; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 23, Issue 11, eff. April 21, 2007; Volume 23, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2007; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 33, Issue 11, eff. March 9, 2017; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-236. Inactive license.

A doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to maintain continuing competency requirements and shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic in Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 4, eff. December 8, 1999; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004.

18VAC85-20-240. Reinstatement of an inactive or lapsed license.

A. A practitioner whose license has been lapsed for two successive years or more and who requests reinstatement of licensure shall:

1. File a completed application for reinstatement;

2. Pay the reinstatement fee prescribed in 18VAC85-20-22; and

3. Provide documentation of having completed continued competency hours equal to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed four years, in which the license has been lapsed.

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon submission of the required application, payment of the difference between the current renewal fee for inactive licensure and the current renewal fee for active licensure, and documentation of having completed continued competency hours equal to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed four years, in which the license has been inactive.

C. If a practitioner has not engaged in active practice in his profession for more than four years and wishes to reinstate or reactivate his license, the board may require the practitioner to pass one of the following examinations. For the purpose of determining active practice, the practitioner shall provide evidence of at least 640 hours of clinical practice within the four years immediately preceding his application for reinstatement or reactivation.

1. The Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) given by the Federation of State Medical Boards.

2. The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable Purpose Examination—USA (COMVEX-USA) given by the National Board of Osteopathic Examiners.

3. The Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

4. A special purpose examination or other evidence of continuing competency to practice podiatric medicine as acceptable to the board.

D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for reinstatement or reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this chapter.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 6.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 16, Issue 4, eff. December 8, 1999; Errata, 16:8 VA.R. 997 January 3, 2000; amended, Volume 16, Issue 13, eff. April 12, 2000; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004.

18VAC85-20-250. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 §§ 6.2, 7.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

18VAC85-20-270. (Repealed.)

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1, eff. September 21, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 25, eff. October 4, 1995; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

Part VII
Practitioner Profile System

18VAC85-20-280. Required information.

A. In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2910.1 of the Code of Virginia, a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry licensed by the board shall provide, upon initial request or whenever there is a change in the information that has been entered on the profile, the following information within 30 days:

1. The address and telephone number of the primary practice setting and all secondary practice settings with the percentage of time spent at each location;

2. Names of medical, osteopathic or podiatry schools and graduate medical or podiatric education programs attended with dates of graduation or completion of training;

3. Names and dates of specialty board certification, if any, as approved by the American Board of Medical Specialties, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of the American Osteopathic Association or the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association;

4. Number of years in active, clinical practice in the United States or Canada following completion of medical or podiatric training and the number of years, if any, in active, clinical practice outside the United States or Canada;

5. The specialty, if any, in which the physician or podiatrist practices;

6. Names of hospitals with which the physician or podiatrist is affiliated;

7. Appointments within the past 10 years to medical or podiatry school faculties with the years of service and academic rank;

8. Publications, not to exceed 10 in number, in peer-reviewed literature within the most recent five-year period;

9. Whether there is access to translating services for non-English speaking patients at the primary and secondary practice settings and which, if any, foreign languages are spoken in the practice;

10. Whether the physician or podiatrist participates in the Virginia Medicaid Program and whether he is accepting new Medicaid patients;

11. A report on felony convictions including the date of the conviction, the nature of the conviction, the jurisdiction in which the conviction occurred, and the sentence imposed, if any;

12. Final orders of any regulatory board of another jurisdiction that result in the denial, probation, revocation, suspension, or restriction of any license or that results in the reprimand or censure of any license or the voluntary surrender of a license while under investigation in a state other than Virginia while under investigation, as well as any disciplinary action taken by a federal health institution or federal agency; and

13. Any final disciplinary or other action required to be reported to the board by health care institutions, other practitioners, insurance companies, health maintenance organizations, and professional organizations pursuant to §§ 54.1-2400.6, 54.1-2908, and 54.1-2909 that results in a suspension or revocation of privileges or the termination of employment.

B. Adjudicated notices and final orders or decision documents, subject to s 54.1-2400.2 F of the Code of Virginia, shall be made available on the profile. Information shall be posted indicating the availability of unadjudicated notices and of orders that have not yet become final.

C. For the sole purpose of expediting dissemination of information about a public health emergency, an email address or facsimile number shall be provided, if available. Such addresses or numbers shall not be published on the profile and shall not be released or made available for any other purpose.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 7, eff. January 19, 2000; amended, Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 21, eff. August 2, 2000; Volume 19, Issue 19, eff. July 2, 2003; Volume 19, Issue 21, eff. July 30, 2003; Volume 21, Issue 22, eff. September 26, 2005.

18VAC85-20-285. Voluntary information.

A. The doctor may provide names of insurance plans accepted or managed care plans in which he participates.

B. The doctor may provide additional information on hours of continuing education earned, subspecialties obtained, and honors or awards received.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2910.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 19, eff. July 2, 2003.

18VAC85-20-290. Reporting of medical malpractice judgments and settlements.

A. In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2910.1 of the Code of Virginia, a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry licensed by the board shall report all medical malpractice judgments and settlements of more than $10,000 in the most recent 10-year period within 30 days of the initial payment. A doctor shall report a medical malpractice judgment or settlement of less than $10,000 if any other medical malpractice judgment or settlement has been paid by or for the licensee within the preceeding 12 months. Each report of a settlement or judgment shall indicate:

1. The year the judgment or settlement was paid.

2. The specialty in which the doctor was practicing at the time the incident occurred that resulted in the judgment or settlement.

3. The total amount of the judgment or settlement in United States dollars.

4. The city, state, and country in which the judgment or settlement occurred.

B. The board shall not release individually identifiable numeric values of reported judgments or settlements but shall use the information provided to determine the relative frequency of judgments or settlements described in terms of the number of doctors in each specialty and the percentage with malpractice judgments or settlements within the most recent 10-year period. The statistical methodology used will include any specialty with more than 10 judgments or settlements. For each specialty with more than 10 judgments or settlements, the top 16% of the judgments or settlements will be displayed as above average payments, the next 68% of the judgments or settlements will be displayed as average payments, and the last 16% of the judgments or settlements will be displayed as below average payments.

C. For purposes of reporting required under this section, medical malpractice judgment and medical malpractice settlement shall have the meanings ascribed in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. A medical malpractice judgment or settlement shall include:

1. A lump sum payment or the first payment of multiple payments;

2. A payment made from personal funds;

3. A payment on behalf of a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry by a corporation or entity comprised solely of that doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry; or

4. A payment on behalf of a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry named in the claim where that doctor is dismissed as a condition of, or in consideration of the settlement, judgment or release. If a doctor is dismissed independently of the settlement, judgment or release, then the payment is not reportable.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 7, eff. January 19, 2000; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 19, eff. July 2, 2003; Volume 23, Issue 13, eff. April 4, 2007; Volume 23, Issue 23, eff. August 22, 2007; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012.

18VAC85-20-300. Noncompliance or falsification of profile.

A. The failure to provide the information required by 18VAC85-20-280 and 18VAC85-20-290 within 30 days of the request for information by the board or within 30 days of a change in the information on the profile may constitute unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

B. Intentionally providing false information to the board for the physician profile system shall constitute unprofessional conduct and shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2910.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 7, eff. January 19, 2000; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 19, eff. July 2, 2003.

Part VIII
Office-Based Anesthesia

18VAC85-20-310. Definitions.

"Advanced resuscitative techniques" means methods learned in certification courses for Advanced Cardiopulmonary Life Support (ACLS), or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS).

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of consciousness during which patients cannot be easily aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may be impaired. Patients often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained.

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of consciousness during which patients are not arousable even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function is often impaired. Patients often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and positive-pressure ventilation may be required because of depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular function may be impaired.

"Local anesthesia" means a transient and reversible loss of sensation in a circumscribed portion of the body produced by a local anesthetic agent.

"Minimal sedation/anxiolysis" means a drug-induced state during which a patient responds normally to verbal commands. Although cognitive function and coordination may be impaired, ventilatory and cardiovascular functions are usually not affected.

"Moderate sedation/conscious sedation" means a drug-induced depression of consciousness during which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. No interventions are usually required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation is usually adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained.

"Monitoring" means the continual clinical observation of patients and the use of instruments to measure and display the values of certain physiologic variables such as pulse, oxygen saturation, level of consciousness, blood pressure and respiration.

"Office-based" means any setting other than (i) a licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia or state-operated hospitals or (ii) a facility directly maintained or operated by the federal government.

"Physical status classification" means a description used in determining the physical status of a patient as specified by the American Society of Anesthesiologists. Classifications are Class 1 for a normal healthy patient; Class 2 for a patient with mild systemic disease; Class 3 for a patient with severe systemic disease limiting activity but not incapacitation; Class 4 for a patient with incapacitating systemic disease that is a constant threat to life; and Class 5 for a moribund patient not expected to live 24 hours with or without surgery.

"Regional anesthesia" means the administration of anesthetic agents to a patient to interrupt nerve impulses without the loss of consciousness and includes minor and major conductive blocks.

"Minor conductive block" means the injection of local anesthesia to stop or prevent a painful sensation in a circumscribed area of the body (local infiltration or local nerve block), or the block of a nerve by refrigeration. Minor conductive nerve blocks include, but are not limited to, peribulbar blocks, pudenal blocks and ankle blocks.

"Major conductive block" means the use of local anesthesia to stop or prevent the transmission of painful sensations from large nerves, groups of nerves, nerve roots or the spinal cord. Major nerve blocks include, but are not limited to epidural, spinal, caudal, femoral, interscalene and brachial plexus.

"Topical anesthesia" means an anesthetic agent applied directly to the skin or mucous membranes, intended to produce a transient and reversible loss of sensation to a circumscribed area.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003.

18VAC85-20-320. General provisions.

A. Applicability of requirements for office-based anesthesia.

1. The administration of topical anesthesia, local anesthesia, minor conductive blocks, or minimal sedation/anxiolysis, not involving a drug-induced alteration of consciousness other than minimal preoperative tranquilization, is not subject to the requirements for office-based anesthesia in this part. A health care practitioner administering such agents shall adhere to an accepted standard of care as appropriate to the level of anesthesia or sedation, including evaluation, drug selection, administration, and management of complications.

2. The administration of moderate sedation/conscious sedation, deep sedation, general anesthesia, or regional anesthesia consisting of a major conductive block is subject to these requirements for office-based anesthesia in this part. The administration of 300 milligrams or more of lidocaine or equivalent doses of local anesthetics shall be deemed to be subject to these requirements for office-based anesthesia in this part.

3. Levels of anesthesia or sedation referred to in this chapter shall relate to the level of anesthesia or sedation intended and documented by the practitioner in the preoperative anesthesia plan.

B. A doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry administering office-based anesthesia or supervising such administration shall:

1. Perform a preanesthetic evaluation and examination or ensure that it has been performed;

2. Develop the anesthesia plan or ensure that it has been developed;

3. Ensure that the anesthesia plan has been discussed with the patient or responsible party preoperatively and informed consent has been obtained;

4. Ensure patient assessment and monitoring through the preprocedure, periprocedure, and post-procedure phases, addressing not only physical and functional status, but also physiological and cognitive status;

5. Ensure provision of indicated post-anesthesia care;

6. Remain physically present or immediately available, as appropriate, to manage complications and emergencies until discharge criteria have been met; and

7. Document any complications occurring during surgery or during recovery in the medical record.

C. All written policies, procedures, and protocols required for office-based anesthesia shall be maintained and available for inspection at the facility.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 22, eff. July 27, 2016.

18VAC85-20-330. Qualifications of providers.

A. Doctors who utilize office-based anesthesia shall ensure that all medical personnel assisting in providing patient care are appropriately trained, qualified and supervised, are sufficient in numbers to provide adequate care, and maintain training in basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

B. All providers of office-based anesthesia shall hold the appropriate license and have the necessary training and skills to deliver the level of anesthesia being provided.

1. Deep sedation, general anesthesia or a major conductive block shall be administered by an anesthesiologist or by a certified registered nurse anesthetist. If a major conductive block is performed for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, it may be administered by a doctor qualified by training and scope of practice.

2. Moderate sedation/conscious sedation may be administered by the operating doctor with the assistance of and monitoring by a licensed nurse, a physician assistant or a licensed intern or resident.

C. Additional training.

1. On or after December 18, 2003, the doctor who provides office-based anesthesia or who supervises the administration of anesthesia shall maintain current certification in advanced resuscitation techniques.

2. Any doctor who administers office-based anesthesia without the use of an anesthesiologist or certified registered nurse anesthetist shall obtain four hours of continuing education in topics related to anesthesia within the 60 hours required each biennium for licensure renewal, which are subject to random audit by the board.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2006.

18VAC85-20-340. Procedure/anesthesia selection and patient evaluation.

A. A written protocol shall be developed and followed for procedure selection to include but not be limited to:

1. The doctor providing or supervising the anesthesia shall ensure that the procedure to be undertaken is within the scope of practice of the health care practitioners and the capabilities of the facility.

2. The procedure or combined procedures shall be of a duration and degree of complexity that shall not exceed four hours and that will permit the patient to recover and be discharged from the facility in less than 24 hours. The procedure or combined procedures may be extended for up to eight hours if the anesthesia is provided by an anesthesiologist or a certified registered nurse anesthetist.

3. The level of anesthesia used shall be appropriate for the patient, the surgical procedure, the clinical setting, the education and training of the personnel, and the equipment available. The choice of specific anesthesia agents and techniques shall focus on providing an anesthetic that will be effective and appropriate and will address the specific needs of the patient while also ensuring rapid recovery to normal function with maximum efforts to control post-operative pain, nausea, or other side effects.

B. A written protocol shall be developed for patient evaluation to include but not be limited to:

1. The preoperative anesthesia evaluation of a patient shall be performed by the health care practitioner administering the anesthesia or supervising the administration of anesthesia. It shall consist of performing an appropriate history and physical examination, determining the patient's physical status classification, developing a plan of anesthesia care, acquainting the patient or the responsible individual with the proposed plan, and discussing the risks and benefits.

2. The condition of the patient, specific morbidities that complicate anesthetic management, the specific intrinsic risks involved, and the nature of the planned procedure shall be considered in evaluating a patient for office-based anesthesia.

3. Patients who have pre-existing medical or other conditions that may be of particular risk for complications shall be referred to a facility appropriate for the procedure and administration of anesthesia. Nothing relieves the licensed health care practitioner of the responsibility to make a medical determination of the appropriate surgical facility or setting.

C. Office-based anesthesia shall only be provided for patients in physical status classifications for Classes I, II and III. Patients in Classes IV and V shall not be provided anesthesia in an office-based setting.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 22, eff. July 27, 2016.

18VAC85-20-350. Informed consent.

A. Prior to administration, the anesthesia plan shall be discussed with the patient or responsible party by the health care practitioner administering the anesthesia or supervising the administration of anesthesia. Informed consent for the nature and objectives of the anesthesia planned shall be in writing and obtained from the patient or responsible party before the procedure is performed. Such consent shall include a discussion of discharge planning and what care or assistance the patient is expected to require after discharge. Informed consent shall only be obtained after a discussion of the risks, benefits, and alternatives, contain the name of the anesthesia provider, and be documented in the medical record.

B. The surgical consent forms shall be executed by the patient or the responsible party and shall contain a statement that the doctor performing the surgery is board certified or board eligible by one of the American Board of Medical Specialties boards, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of the American Osteopathic Association, the American Board of Podiatric Medicine, or the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery. The forms shall either list which board or contain a statement that doctor performing the surgery is not board certified or board eligible.

C. The surgical consent forms shall indicate whether the surgery is elective or medically necessary. If a consent is obtained in an emergency, the surgical consent form shall indicate the nature of the emergency.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 22, eff. July 27, 2016; Volume 36, Issue 2, eff. November 1, 2019.

18VAC85-20-360. Monitoring.

A. A written protocol shall be developed for monitoring equipment to include but not be limited to:

1. Monitoring equipment shall be appropriate for the type of anesthesia and the nature of the facility. At a minimum, provisions shall be made for a reliable source of oxygen, suction, resuscitation equipment and emergency drugs.

2. In locations where anesthesia is administered, there shall be adequate anesthesia apparatus and equipment to ensure appropriate monitoring of patients. All equipment shall be maintained, tested and inspected according to manufacturer's specifications, and backup power shall be sufficient to ensure patient protection in the event of an emergency.

3. When anesthesia services are provided to infants and children, the required equipment, medication and resuscitative capabilities shall be appropriately sized and calibrated for children.

B. To administer office-based moderate sedation/conscious sedation, the following equipment, supplies and pharmacological agents are required:

1. Appropriate equipment to manage airways;

2. Drugs and equipment to treat shock and anaphylactic reactions;

3. Precordial stethoscope;

4. Pulse oximeter with appropriate alarms or an equivalent method of measuring oxygen saturation;

5. Continuous electrocardiograph;

6. Devices for measuring blood pressure, heart rate and respiratory rate;

7. Defibrillator; and

8. Accepted method of identifying and preventing the interchangeability of gases.

C. In addition to requirements in subsection B of this section, to administer general anesthesia, deep sedation or major conductive blocks, the following equipment, supplies and pharmacological agents are required:

1. Drugs to treat malignant hyperthermia, when triggering agents are used;

2. Peripheral nerve stimulator, if a muscle relaxant is used; and

3. If using an anesthesia machine, the following shall be included:

a. End-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph);

b. In-circuit oxygen analyzer designed to monitor oxygen concentration within breathing circuit by displaying oxygen percent of the total respiratory mixture;

c. Oxygen failure-protection devices (fail-safe system) that have the capacity to announce a reduction in oxygen pressure and, at lower levels of oxygen pressure, to discontinue other gases when the pressure of the supply of oxygen is reduced;

d. Vaporizer exclusion (interlock) system, which ensures that only one vaporizer, and therefore only a single anesthetic agent can be actualized on any anesthesia machine at one time;

e. Pressure-compensated anesthesia vaporizers, designed to administer a constant non-pulsatile output, which shall not be placed in the circuit downstream of the oxygen flush valve;

f. Flow meters and controllers, which can accurately gauge concentration of oxygen relative to the anesthetic agent being administered and prevent oxygen mixtures of less than 21% from being administered;

g. Alarm systems for high (disconnect), low (subatmospheric) and minimum ventilatory pressures in the breathing circuit for each patient under general anesthesia; and

h. A gas evacuation system.

D. A written protocol shall be developed for monitoring procedures to include but not be limited to:

1. Physiologic monitoring of patients shall be appropriate for the type of anesthesia and individual patient needs, including continuous monitoring and assessment of ventilation, oxygenation, cardiovascular status, body temperature, neuromuscular function and status, and patient positioning.

2. Intraoperative patient evaluation shall include continuous clinical observation and continuous anesthesia monitoring.

3. A health care practitioner administering general anesthesia or deep sedation shall remain present and available in the facility to monitor a patient until the patient meets the discharge criteria. A health care practitioner administering moderate sedation/conscious sedation shall routinely monitor a patient according to procedures consistent with such administration.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003.

18VAC85-20-370. Emergency and transfer protocols.

A. There shall be written protocols for handling emergency situations, including medical emergencies and internal and external disasters. All personnel shall be appropriately trained in and regularly review the protocols and the equipment and procedures for handling emergencies.

B. There shall be written protocols for the timely and safe transfer of patients to a prespecified hospital or hospitals within a reasonable proximity. For purposes of this section, "reasonable proximity" shall mean that a licensed general hospital capable of providing necessary services is normally accessible within 30 minutes of the office. There shall be a written or electronic transfer agreement with such hospital or hospitals.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 22, eff. July 27, 2016.

18VAC85-20-380. Discharge policies and procedures.

A. There shall be written policies and procedures outlining discharge criteria. Such criteria shall include stable vital signs, responsiveness and orientation, ability to move voluntarily, controlled pain, and minimal nausea and vomiting.

B. Discharge from anesthesia care is the responsibility of the health care practitioner providing or the doctor supervising the anesthesia care and shall only occur when:

1. The patient has met specific physician-defined criteria; and

2. The health care practitioner providing or the doctor supervising the anesthetic care has given the order for discharge.

C. Written instructions and an emergency phone number shall be provided to the patient. Patients shall be discharged with a responsible individual who has been instructed with regard to the patient's care.

D. At least one person trained in advanced resuscitative techniques shall be immediately available until all patients are discharged.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 22, eff. July 27, 2016.

18VAC85-20-390. Reporting requirements.

The doctor administering the anesthesia or supervising such administration shall report to the board within 30 days any incident relating to the administration of anesthesia that results in patient death, either intraoperatively or within the immediate 72-hour postoperative period or in transport of a patient to a hospital for a stay of more than 24 hours.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. June 18, 2003.

Part IX
Mixing, Diluting, or Reconstituting of Drugs for Administration

18VAC85-20-400. Requirements for immediate-use sterile mixing, diluting, or reconstituting.

A. For the purposes of this chapter, the mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile manufactured drug products when there is no direct contact contamination and administration begins within 10 hours of the completion time of preparation shall be considered immediate-use with the exception of drugs in fat emulsion for which immediate use shall be one hour. If manufacturers' instructions or any other accepted standard specifies or indicates an appropriate time between preparation and administration of less than 10 hours, the mixing, diluting, or reconstituting shall be in accordance with the lesser time. No direct contact contamination means that there is no contamination from touch, gloves, bare skin, or secretions from the mouth or nose. Emergency drugs used in the practice of anesthesiology and administration of allergens may exceed 10 hours after completion of the preparation, provided administration does not exceed the specified expiration date of a multiple use vial and there is compliance with all other requirements of this section.

B. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who engage in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting shall:

1. Utilize the practices and principles of disinfection techniques, aseptic manipulations and solution compatibility in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting;

2. Ensure that all personnel under their supervision who are involved in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting are appropriately and properly trained in and utilize the practices and principles of disinfection techniques, aseptic manipulations, and solution compatibility;

3. Establish and implement procedures for verification of the accuracy of the product that has been mixed, diluted, or reconstituted to include a second check performed by a doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine or by a physician assistant or a registered nurse who has been specifically trained pursuant to subdivision 2 of this subsection in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting. Mixing, diluting, or reconstituting that is performed by a doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine or by a specifically trained physician assistant or registered nurse or mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of vaccines does not require a second check;

4. Provide a designated, sanitary work space and equipment appropriate for aseptic manipulations;

5. Document or ensure that personnel under his supervision document in the patient record or other readily retrievable record that identifies the patient; the names of drugs mixed, diluted or reconstituted; and the date of administration; and

6. Develop and maintain written policies and procedures to be followed in mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products and for the training of personnel.

C. Any mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of drug products that are hazardous to personnel shall be performed consistent with requirements of all applicable federal and state laws and regulations for safety and air quality, to include but not be limited to those of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). For the purposes of this chapter, Appendix A of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health publication (NIOSH Publication No. 2004-165), Preventing Occupational Exposure to Antineoplastic and Other Hazardous Drugs in Health Care Settings is incorporated by reference for the list of hazardous drug products and can be found at www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2004-165.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2007; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 20, eff. July 24, 2008; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 32, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2016.

18VAC85-20-410. Requirements for low-risk, medium-risk, or high-risk sterile mixing, diluting, or reconstituting.

A. Any mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products that does not meet the criteria for immediate-use as set forth in 18VAC85-20-400 A shall be defined as low-risk, medium-risk, or high-risk compounding under the definitions of Chapter 797 of the U.S. Pharmacopeia (USP).

B. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who engage in low-risk, medium-risk, or high-risk mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products shall comply with all applicable requirements of the USP Chapter 797. Subsequent changes to the USP Chapter 797 shall apply within one year of the official announcement by USP.

C. A current copy, in any published format, of USP Chapter 797 shall be maintained at the location where low-risk, medium-risk, or high-risk mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products is performed.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2007; amended Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. September 26, 2019.

18VAC85-20-420. Responsibilities of doctors who mix, dilute or reconstitute drugs in their practices.

A. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who delegate the mixing, diluting or reconstituting of sterile drug products for administration retain responsibility for patient care and shall monitor and document any adverse responses to the drugs.

B. Doctors who engage in the mixing, diluting or reconstituting of sterile drug products in their practices shall disclose this information to the board in a manner prescribed by the board and are subject to unannounced inspections by the board or its agents.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2007.

FORMS (18VAC85-20).

Application to Practice Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Chiropractic, and Podiatry, online application available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/

Application to Practice Medicine, by endorsement, online application at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice Medicine in Virginia for Graduates of Allopathic Medical Schools and Osteopathic Medical Schools (rev. 12/2017)

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice Chiropractic in Virginia (rev. 12/2017)

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure by Endorsement (rev. 8/2020)

Instructions for Completing Podiatric Medicine Application (rev. 12/2017)

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/2017)

Form A, Intern/Resident, Memorandum from Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education or Program Director (rev. 8/2007)

Form B, Intern/Resident Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 8/2007)

Form G, Intern Resident, Request for Status Report of ECFMG Certification (eff. 8/07)

Intern/Resident, Transfer Request (rev. 6/2016)

Instructions for Completing an Application for a Limited License to Foreign Medical Graduates Pursuant to 54.1-2936 (rev. 8/2007)

Application for a Limited License to Foreign Medical Graduates Pursuant to 54.1-2936 (rev. 8/2007)

Form A, MD Reinstatement, Claims History Sheet (rev. 9/2009)

Reinstatement of a Podiatry License – Please contact Pam Smith for licensure package at (804) 367-4570 or pam.smith@dhp.virginia.gov

MD/DO Reinstatement Instructions and Application for MD and DO licenses in EXPIRED status for more than two years ONLY (rev. 8/2020)

Instructions for Reinstatement of a Chiropractic Licensure Application (rev. 4/2018)

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 8/2015)

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 3/2018)

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (rev. 12/2007)

Forms (18VAC85-20-9999)

Preventing Occupational Exposure to Antineoplastic and Other Hazardous Drugs in Health Care Settings (NIOSH Publication No. 2004-165), Appendix A (Drugs Considered Hazardous), National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health.

USP Chapter 797, United States Pharmacopeial Convention.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.