Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
6/17/2021

§ 46.2-613.1. Civil penalty for violation of license, registration, and tax requirements and vehicle size limitations.

A. A civil penalty of $250 and a processing fee of $20 shall be levied against any person who while at a permanent weighing station:

1. Operates or permits the operation of a truck or tractor truck with a gross weight greater than 7,500 pounds, a trailer, or a semitrailer owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by him on any highway in the Commonwealth unless (i) it is registered, (ii) a certificate of title therefor has been issued, and (iii) it has displayed on it the license plate or plates and decal or decals required by this title.

2. Operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any motor vehicle that is not in compliance with the Unified Carrier Registration System authorized under 49 U.S.C. § 14504a, enacted pursuant to the Unified Carrier Registration Act of 2005, and the federal regulations promulgated thereunder.

3. Operates or permits the operation of any truck or tractor truck for which the fee for registration is prescribed by § 46.2-697 on any highway in the Commonwealth (i) without first having paid the registration fee hereinabove prescribed or (ii) if at the time of operation the gross weight of the vehicle or of the combination of vehicles of which it is a part is in excess of the gross weight on the basis of which it is registered. In any case where a pickup truck is used in combination with another vehicle, the civil penalty and processing fee shall be assessed only if the combined gross weight exceeds the combined gross weight on the basis of which each vehicle is registered.

4. (i) Fails to declare a motor vehicle to be operated for hire when required by § 46.2-2121.1 or obtain a proper registration card or other evidence of registration as required by this chapter; (ii) operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any motor vehicle that does not carry the proper registration and identification required by this title, display an identification marker issued for the vehicle by the Department in the manner prescribed by the Department, or display any other identifying information required by this title; or (iii) operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any motor vehicle requiring registration cards or identification markers from the Department after such registration cards or identification markers have been revoked, canceled, or suspended.

5. (i) Fails to obtain a proper registration card, identification marker, or other evidence of registration required by Chapter 27 (§ 58.1-2700 et seq.) of Title 58.1 or the terms and provisions of the International Fuel Tax Agreement, as amended by the International Fuel Tax Association, Inc.; (ii) operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any motor vehicle that does not carry the proper registration and identification marker required by Chapter 27 (§ 58.1-2700 et seq.) of Title 58.1 or the terms and provisions of the International Fuel Tax Agreement, as amended by the International Fuel Tax Association, Inc., or any motor vehicle that does not display an identification marker or other identifying information as prescribed by the Department or required by Title 58.1 or the terms of the International Fuel Tax Agreement, as amended by the International Fuel Tax Association, Inc.; or (iii) operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any motor vehicle requiring registration cards or identification markers from the Department after such registration cards or identification markers have been revoked, canceled, or suspended.

6. Operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any truck or tractor truck or combination of vehicles exceeding the size limitations of Articles 14 (§ 46.2-1101 et seq.), 15 (§ 46.2-1105 et seq.), 16 (§ 46.2-1112 et seq.), and 18 (§ 46.2-1139 et seq.) of Chapter 10.

B. Upon collection by the Department, civil penalties levied pursuant to subdivisions A 1 and A 3 through 5 shall be paid into the Commonwealth Transportation Fund, but civil penalties levied pursuant to subdivisions A 2 and 6 and all processing fees levied pursuant to this section shall be paid into the state treasury and shall be set aside as a special fund to meet the expenses of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

C. The penalties and fees specified in this section shall be in addition to any other penalty, fee, tax, or liability that may be imposed by law.

2011, cc. 62, 73; 2012, cc. 22, 111; 2017, cc. 790, 815.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.