Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
2/29/2024

§ 46.2-684.1. Insurance coverage and proof of insurance for exempted motor vehicles.

A. Any motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer that is exempt from motor vehicle registration requirements pursuant to this article shall be insured under a general liability policy that includes personal injury liability insurance as defined in § 38.2-117 and property damage liability insurance as defined in § 38.2-118, under a policy of motor vehicle insurance as defined in § 38.2-124, or under an umbrella or excess insurance policy. Any such umbrella or excess insurance policy shall not be required to comply with the provisions of Chapter 22 (§ 38.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia that relate to the ownership, maintenance, or use of the exempt motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer.

B. Any person who owns a motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer that is exempt from motor vehicle registration requirements pursuant to this article may be required by a law-enforcement officer to furnish proof that such motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer is insured as required in subsection A. Failure to furnish proof of insurance when required by a law-enforcement officer as provided in this section within 30 days shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a $600 fine that shall be paid into the Uninsured Motorists Fund created pursuant to § 38.2-3000.

2005, c. 445; 2022, c. 736.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.