Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 8.01. Civil Remedies and Procedure
Chapter 18. Executions and Other Means of Recovery
10/15/2019

This section has more than one version with varying effective dates. Scroll down to see all versions.

§ 8.01-471. (Effective until October 1, 2019) Time period for issuing writs of eviction in unlawful entry and detainer; when returnable.

Writs of eviction, in case of unlawful entry and detainer, shall be issued within 180 days from the date of judgment for possession and shall be made returnable within 30 days from the date of issuing the writ. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a writ of eviction not executed within 30 days from the date of issuance shall be vacated as a matter of law without further order of the court that entered the order of possession, and no further action shall be taken by the clerk. No writ shall issue, however, in cases under the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (§ 55-248.2 et seq.) if, following the entry of judgment for possession, the landlord has entered into a new written rental agreement with the tenant, as described in § 55-248.34:1. A writ of eviction may be requested by the plaintiff or the plaintiff's attorney or agent.

Code 1950, § 8-403; 1977, c. 617; 1999, c. 683; 2003, c. 427; 2006, c. 667; 2013, c. 63; 2019, cc. 180, 700.

§ 8.01-471. (Effective October 1, 2019) Time period for issuing writs of eviction in unlawful entry and detainer; when returnable.

Writs of eviction, in case of unlawful entry and detainer, shall be issued within 180 days from the date of judgment for possession and shall be made returnable within 30 days from the date of issuing the writ. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a writ of eviction not executed within 30 days from the date of issuance shall be vacated as a matter of law without further order of the court that entered the order of possession, and no further action shall be taken by the clerk. No writ shall issue, however, in cases under the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (§ 55.1-1200 et seq.) if, following the entry of judgment for possession, the landlord has entered into a new written rental agreement with the tenant, as described in § 55.1-1250. A writ of eviction may be requested by the plaintiff or the plaintiff's attorney or agent.

Code 1950, § 8-403; 1977, c. 617; 1999, c. 683; 2003, c. 427; 2006, c. 667; 2013, c. 63; 2019, cc. 180, 700.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.