Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 45.1. Mines and Mining
Chapter 19. Virginia Coal Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1979
1/16/2021

§ 45.1-270.4:1. Special assessment.

A. In addition to the tax assessed pursuant to § 45.1-270.4, and in order to ensure Fund solvency, the Commissioner of the Division of Mined Land Reclamation shall require each permittee to pay any special assessment made pursuant to subsection B of this section.

B. On and after July 1, 1990, the Commissioner of the Division of Mined Land Reclamation shall assess each permit in the Fund the amount of $500. This assessment shall be made only one time and all revenues collected shall be applied to the balance of the Fund. The permittee shall be responsible for payment of the assessment.

On or after July 1, 1991, the Commissioner of the Division of Mined Land Reclamation shall assess an amount not to exceed $500,000. The amount of the assessment shall be $250 for each permit participating in the Fund which has completed all mining activity and for which a completion report has been approved. The remaining assessments shall be made in equal amounts per acre for each disturbed acre permitted under the Fund. The amount of disturbed acreage for each permit shall be determined by the most recent anniversary map, or updated anniversary map, submitted by the permittee to the Division of Mined Land Reclamation prior to July 1, 1991. The assessments under this subsection shall not apply to acreage that has been reclaimed and for which an increment of the bond has been transferred to other acreage in the permit. The assessments under this subsection shall be made only one time and all revenues collected shall be applied to the balance of the Fund. The permittee shall be responsible for payment of the assessment.

C. Failure to tender moneys assessed pursuant to the provisions of this section within thirty calendar days of assessment shall constitute a violation of the Virginia Coal Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act (§ 45.1-226 et seq.). Any civil penalties collected for violations of this section shall be applied to the balance of the Fund.

1990, c. 427; 1991, c. 495.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.