Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 55. Property and Conveyances [Repealed Effective October 1, 2019]
Chapter 11.1. Disposition of Unclaimed Property
11/13/2019

§ 55-210.26:1. (Repealed effective October 1, 2019) Interest and penalties.

A. Any person who fails to pay or deliver property within the time prescribed by this chapter shall be required to pay to the administrator interest at the same annual rate as is applicable to delinquent taxes under § 58.1-1812 on the property or value thereof from the date the property should have been paid or delivered. Such interest rate shall vary with the rate specified in § 58.1-1812.

B. Any person who does not exercise due diligence as defined in § 55-210.2 shall pay a civil penalty not to exceed fifty dollars for each account upon which due diligence was not performed.

C. Except as otherwise provided in subsection D, a holder who (i) fails to report, pay or deliver property within the time prescribed by this chapter, (ii) files a false report, or (iii) fails to perform other duties imposed by this chapter without good cause, shall pay to the administrator, in addition to interest as provided in subsection A, a civil penalty of $100 for each day the report, payment or delivery is withheld or the duty is not performed, up to a maximum of the lesser of $10,000 or twenty-five percent of the value of the property that should have been but was not reported.

D. A holder who (i) willfully fails to report, pay or deliver property within the time prescribed by this chapter, (ii) willfully fails to perform other duties imposed by this chapter without good cause, or (iii) makes a fraudulent report to the administrator shall pay to the administrator, in addition to interest as provided in subsection A, a civil penalty of $1,000 for each day the report, payment or delivery is withheld or the duty is not performed, up to a maximum of the lesser of $50,000 or 100 percent of the value of the property that should have been but was not reported.

E. The administrator for good cause may waive, in whole or in part, interest under subsection A and penalties under subsections B, C, and D. All civil penalties shall be payable to the State Treasurer.

1984, c. 121; 1988, c. 378; 1992, c. 583; 2000, cc. 733, 745.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.